National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
 National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
Home Search Print Marks & Inscriptions Information Sources Acknowledgements Help Français
Information sources

Compiling and editing the contents of the Workbooks required three types of research: retrieval of existing information, firsthand examination and interviews, and finally, consultation by phone, letter, fax and e-mail.

The retrieval process involved abstracting information from every print-related catalogue, brochure, leaflet and published print resource including annual collection catalogues, special collection/commission offerings, major auction catalogues and principal reference books. This basic information was then put into an usable and retrievable form, arranged by community and artist.

The next step was to cross check the information, resolve inconsistencies and isolate blocks of missing data (name changes over a period of almost 50 years for some 500 artists and printers proved quite a challenge). Also most of the early collection catalogues were inconsistent in the information they offered; the fantastic success of Inuit prints in the world market was not expected and thus the need for more thorough documentation was not anticipated. This meant that information, had to be retrieved from the source, i.e. the prints themselves. Since the first experiments in Cape Dorset in 1957, there have been approximately 8,000 images produced, most but not restricted to, by the major print-producing communities of Arctic Québec (including Povungnituk/Puvirnituq), Cape Dorset, Clyde River, Holman and Pangnirtung. Almost every print image was examined at least once to determine missing data and to double check existing documentation. This research took place at almost every Canadian Museum with a major Inuit collection, Southern marketing arms, Northern co-operatives, dealer and individual collections in Canada and the U.S. and major Canadian and U.S. auctions.

Today catalogue documentation is quite thorough, but Cape Dorset, for example, did not publish printer attributions until 1971, so the printer chops had to be examined print by print. Baker and Pangnirtung credited the printers from the beginning, but there was quite a bit of confusion and misattribution because of the use of married names in English (maiden names in syllabics) or transposition of the usual artist/printer order. Holman attists do not sign in syllabics nor was their any acknowledgment of printers on the prints or in the catalogues until recently. Attributions were obtained from.the printers involved in Holman by actually showing them the images in the catalogues for identification. As of 1974, Arctic Québec printers were listed in the catalogues, but most of the prints do not carry any easily identifiable attribution. Information is usually in Inuktitut syllabics although sometimes a recognizable name is incised in the print stone. Most artists carved their own stones, but the printing was usually done by others. Some printer attributions were established on trips to Povungnituk (Puvirnituq) and Inoucdjouac (Inukjuak) but much additional information was obtained from Kanayuk Tukalak in Povungnituk, via communication with Mary Craig at La Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec.

 
Home | Search | Print Marks & Inscriptions | Information Sources | Acknowledgements | Help | Français
© 2006 by Arts & Culture of the North / National Gallery of Canada
National Gallery of Canada -- Musée des beaux-arts du Canada Canada

National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
 National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
Accueil Recherche Marques et inscriptions Sources Remerciements Aide English
Sources


La compilation et la révision du contenu du IAPW a exigé trois types de recherche : la recherche documentaire; l’examen de visu et l’entretien face à face; et enfin la consultation à distance (par téléphone, correspondance, télécopie, courrier électronique).

La recherche documentaire a débuté par le dépouillement de tous les catalogues, brochures, dépliants relatifs aux estampes et de toutes les sources publiées en la matière, notamment les catalogues de collection annuelle et spéciale/commandes, les grands catalogues de vente aux enchères et les ouvrages de référence clés). À ce dépouillement a succédé l’organisation des données brutes sous une forme utilisable et accessible par communauté et par artiste.

L’étape suivante a consisté à recouper les données, à en tirer au clair les incohérences et à isoler les blocs d’information manquante (les changements de noms de quelque 500 artistes et graveurs en près d’un demi-siècle ont posé tout un défi). De plus, la plupart des premiers catalogues de collection péchaient par manque de cohérence; les estampes inuites on connu sur le marché mondial un succès inespéré, si bien que nul n’a pu prévoir le besoin d’une documentation plus élaborée. Aussi a-t-il fallu extraire les données à la source, autrement dit des estampes proprement dites. Depuis les premiers balbutiements à Cape Dorset en 1957, environ huit mille images ont vu le jour, en grande partie mais pas seulement dans les communautés importantes du Québec arctique où l’estampe est florissante, soit Povungnituk/Puvirnituq), Cape Dorset, Clyde River, Holman et Pangnirtung. On a examiné chaque image gravée au moins une fois pour déterminer s’il manquait de l’information et contre-vérifié la documentation existante. Cette recherche s’est effectuée dans pratiquement tous les musées canadiens qui conservent une collection inuite, les débouchés commerciaux du Sud, les coopératives du Nord, les collections des marchands d’art et des particuliers du Canada et des États-Unis, et les grandes ventes aux enchères de ces deux pays.

Les données de catalogage sont aujourd’hui exhaustives, mais Cape Dorset, par exemple, a attendu 1971 pour faire mention du graveur, de sorte qu’il a fallu examiner une à une toutes les marques de graveur. Baker Lake et Pangnirtung ont dès le début fait mention des graveurs, mais l’usage des noms de femme mariée en anglais (des noms de jeune fille en écriture syllabique) ou la permutation de l’ordre classique artiste/graveur ont causé de nombreuses méprises et erreurs d’attribution. Les artistes de Holman ne signent pas en caractères syllabiques; et il n’est fait mention que depuis peu du nom des graveurs sur les estampes ou dans les catalogues. Jusqu’à ces derniers temps, on établissait la paternité de l’œuvre en demandant aux graveurs visés d’identifier les images dans des catalogues. Jusqu’à 1974, les graveurs du Québec arctique figuraient dans les catalogues, mais la plupart des estampes n’arborent aucune mention ou indication autorisant d’emblée une attribution. La lettre est habituellement en écriture syllabique inuktitut, encore qu’un nom reconnaissable soit parfois incisé dans la pierre lithographique. La plupart des artistes ont gravé leur propre pierre, mais le tirage a été confié a quelqu’un d’autre. Des missions à Povungnituk (Puvirnituq) et à Inoucdjouac (Inukjuak) ont permis quelques attributions à un graveur donné, mais bien des informations complémentaires proviennent de Kanayuk Tukalak de Povungnituk, par l’intermédiaire de Mary Craig de La Fédération des coopératives du Nouveau-Québec.

 
Accueil | Recherche | Marques et inscriptions | Sources | Remerciements | Aide | English
© 2006 Arts & Culture of the North / Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
National Gallery of Canada -- Musée des beaux-arts du Canada Canada