About the Selection Committee

The artist Shary Boyle was chosen by a national selection committee comprising senior contemporary art curators and directors from across Canada, including:

Timothy Long

Head Curator
Mackenzie Art Gallery, Regina

Marc Mayer

Director and CEO
National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa

Josée Drouin-Brisebois

Curator of Contemporary Art
National Gallery of Canada, Ottawa

Sarah Fillmore

Chief Curator
Art Gallery of Nova Scotia, Halifax

Gaëtane Verna

The Power Plant, Toronto

About the Curator of the 2012 Exhibition

Josée Drouin-Brisebois is the Senior Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Canada, in Ottawa. She organized the Canadian participation in the 2011 Venice Biennale, Steven Shearer: Exhume to Consume.

She has also curated numerous important exhibitions including Arnaud Maggs: Identification (2012); It Is What It Is: Recent Acquisitions of New Canadian Art (2010–11); Nomads (2009); Caught in the Act: The Viewer as Performer (2008); De-con-structions (2007) and Christopher Pratt (2005).

Ms. Drouin-Brisebois also co-curated Misled by Nature: Contemporary Art and the Baroque with Catherine Crowston and Jonathan Shaughnessy at the Art Gallery of Alberta, Edmonton (2012); and Spectral Landscape (2012) and The Shape of Things (2012) with David Liss at the Museum of Contemporary Canadian Art, Toronto (MOCCA).