Japanese Prints

By the second half of the nineteenth century, Japonism was at its height of popularity in France.  Japonism refers to a taste for everything that comes from Japan: arts, clothing, and decorative objects. Japanese prints in particular fascinated the Impressionists and their contemporaries. Their bright, solid colours, “exotic” subject matter, and daring use of perspective made them very different in style from western art practices.

During his lifetime, Van Gogh and his brother Theo collected more than 400 Japanese prints. He bought his first few in Antwerp, Belgium but his collection rapidly expanded during his time in Paris, where these prints were popular and relatively inexpensive.

Van Gogh’s development of the close-up view was heavily influenced by these prints and their unconventional aesthetic qualities, such as high horizon lines, tilted perspectives and the emphasis on a detail of nature such as a tree branch or trunk. The artist also found a deeper meaning in Japanese art. He praised the Japanese artist for his virtue in focusing on the infinite beauty of fundamental things – such as a single blade of grass.

The exhibition Van Gogh: Up Close features close to 20 Japanese woodblock prints from the Collection of the Royal Ontario Museum, Toronto.


Organized by the National Gallery of Canada and the Philadelphia Museum of Art

Estampes japonaises

Dans la seconde moitié du XIXe siècle, le japonisme est à son apogée en France. Le japonisme désigne l’engouement pour tout ce qui provient du Japon : l’art, les tissus et les objets décoratifs. Les estampes japonaises fascinent particulièrement les impressionnistes et leurs contemporains. Par leurs couleurs vives et unies, leur thème exotique et l’utilisation audacieuse de la perspective, elles offrent un style très différent de celui de l’art occidental.

Au cours de leur vie, Van Gogh et son frère Théo ont collectionné plus de 400 estampes japonaises. Van Gogh a acheté ses premières estampes à Anvers, en Belgique, puis a rapidement étoffé sa collection pendant son séjour à Paris, où ces gravures étaient très populaires et relativement bon marché.

L’esthétique peu conventionnelle des estampes japonaises – haute ligne d’horizon, perspective inclinée, mise en évidence d’un élément particulier de la nature, par exemple, une branche ou un tronc d’arbre – aura une grande influence sur la façon dont Van Gogh compose ses vues de près. Van Gogh trouve aussi dans l’art japonais une signification plus profonde. Il vante la vertu de l’artiste japonais, capable de se concentrer sur l’infinie beauté de l’essentiel, la beauté même d’un brin d’herbe.

L’exposition Van Gogh. De près comprend une vingtaine d’estampes japonaises provenant de la collection du Musée royal de l’Ontario, Toronto.


Organisée par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et le Philadelphia Museum of Art