About the Exhibition

Discover the true nature of Van Gogh this summer at the National Gallery of Canada in Ottawa, the only Canadian venue for this unique exhibition.

Van Gogh: Up Close is the first major exhibition in Canada in over 25 years of works by this famous Dutch artist. It brings together more than 40 of Van Gogh’s paintings from private and public collections around the world, as well as a selection of Japanese woodblock prints, nineteenth-century photographs, and works on paper from the sixteenth to the nineteenth centuries.

This exhibition explores Van Gogh’s love for nature and his gift for representing the world around him, from landscapes down to the smallest blade of grass.

For example, the show includes Iris (1889), from the National Gallery of Canada's collection, as well as paintings that depict another corner of the garden where Van Gogh painted Iris, but from a wider angle. Van Gogh: Up Close will demonstrate how these paintings became the most radical and innovative in the artist's body of work.

Where It Started

In early 1886 Van Gogh arrived in Paris from the Netherlands and came face to face with a revolutionary new way of painting. For the first time he was exposed to the art of the Impressionists and Neo-Impressionists, which compelled him to revise his painting in both content and style. He quickly abandoned the sombre hues of his earlier Dutch works in favour of a brighter palette and modernized brushstroke, beginning with a series of flower still lifes painted in a typical 19th century Western style. But Van Gogh swiftly departed from this tradition and focused increasingly on the subject itself, eliminating the surrounding space.

At the same time, Van Gogh developed a keen interest in Japanese woodblock prints, which he admired for their aesthetic qualities. Like the Impressionist painters who had discovered these prints earlier, Van Gogh became fascinated with Japanese art. This led him to experiment with unusual visual angles, decorative use of colour, cropping and flattening of his compositions.

Van Gogh, The Man

Often remembered for his battles with mental illness and suicide in July 1890, Van Gogh was first and foremost an ambitious, well-read and sophisticated thinker whose work was informed and deliberate.

Born in 1853, he was fluent in English, French and Dutch, and he had a great love for the written word. Throughout his life he read a vast amount of literature that stretched from the Bible to French Naturalist writings. Vincent Van Gogh also had a strong understanding of art history that extended from Old Master paintings right up to the emergence of photography.

Exhibition Patronage

Van Gogh: Up Close is organized by the National Gallery of Canada and the Philadelphia Museum of Art. Presenting Sponsor: Sun Life Financial. Sponsor: Shell. Supported by the Department of Canadian Heritage through the Canada Travelling Exhibitions Indemnification Program.

The exhibition is honoured by the patronage of Her Majesty the Queen of the Netherlands and His Excellency the Right Honourable David Johnston, Governor General of Canada.

Exhibition Curators

Cornelia Homburg, Van Gogh expert and guest curator, National Gallery of Canada. Anabelle Kienle Poňka, Associate Curator of European art at the National Gallery of Canada and co-curator of the exhibition Van Gogh: Up Close


Organized by the National Gallery of Canada and the Philadelphia Museum of Art

À propos de l'exposition

Découvrez la vraie nature de Van Gogh cet été au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, seule escale canadienne de cette exposition exceptionnelle.

Van Gogh. De près est la première exposition d’envergure au Canada, en plus de 25 ans, qui porte sur des œuvres de ce célèbre artiste néerlandais. Elle réunit plus de 40 tableaux de Van Gogh provenant de collections publiques et particulières à travers le monde, ainsi qu’une sélection de gravures sur bois japonaises, de photographies du xixe siècle et d’œuvres sur papier du xvie du xixe siècle.

Cette exposition témoigne de l’amour de l’artiste pour la nature et de son talent à représenter le monde qui l’entoure, du paysage à un seul brin d’herbe.

De ses années parisiennes jusqu’à la fin de sa carrière, Van Gogh a joué sur la profondeur de champ et la distance focale, tantôt en zoomant sur une touffe d’herbe ou un bouton d’iris, tantôt en renversant les perspectives dans ses vues d’un pré ou d’un jardin.

En exemple, le tableau Iris (1889) de la collection du Musée sera exposé avec des peintures représentant un autre coin du jardin où l’artiste a peint d’autres œuvres. Van Gogh. De près permettra ainsi de mieux saisir pourquoi ces toiles sont considérées comme les plus avant-gardistes de sa production artistique.

Où l’histoire commence

Arrivé à Paris au début de 1886, Van Gogh découvre une manière révolutionnaire de peindre. Pour la première fois, il voit l’art des impressionnistes et des néo-impressionnistes, ce qui le pousse à repenser tant le contenu que le style de ses peintures. Très vite, il renonce aux teintes sombres de ses premières œuvres néerlandaises; il éclaircit sa palette et modernise sa touche, d’abord dans une série de natures mortes aux fleurs peintes dans un style occidental typique du XIXe siècle. Mais il s’écarte rapidement de cette tradition pour se concentrer sur le sujet et éliminer, du même coup, l’espace environnant.

En même temps, Van Gogh se passionne pour l’estampe japonaise, dont il admire les qualités esthétiques. Comme les impressionnistes avant lui, il est fasciné par l’art japonais, ce qui le pousse à essayer des angles de vue et des cadrages inusités, à donner un aspect plane à la composition et à utiliser la couleur à des fins décoratives.

Van Gogh, l’homme

Connu pour sa lutte contre la maladie mentale et son suicide en juillet 1890, Vincent van Gogh était avant tout un artiste ambitieux et cultivé doté d’un esprit subtil et réfléchi.

Né en 1853, il parlait couramment le néerlandais, le français et l’anglais, et aimait profondément la littérature; il lisait de tout, depuis la Bible jusqu’aux écrits des naturalistes français. Il possédait de solides connaissances en histoire de l’art et pouvait aussi bien parler de tableaux des maîtres anciens que de photographie.

Parrainage

Van Gogh. De près est organisée par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et le Philadelphia Museum of Art.

Commanditaire principal : Financière Sun Life
Commanditaire : Shell Canada

Avec l'appui du ministère du Patrimoine canadien par l'entremise du Programme d'indemnisation pour les expositions itinérantes au Canada.

L’exposition reçoit le parrainage de Sa Majesté la Reine des Pays-Bas et de Son Excellence le très honorable David Johnston, gouverneur général du Canada.

Commissaires

Cornelia Homburg, spécialiste de Van Gogh et conservatrice invitée, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada.

Anabelle Kienle Poňka, conservatrice associée de l’art européen au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et co-commisaire de l’exposition.


Organisée par le Musée des beaux-arts du Canada et le Philadelphia Museum of Art