Van Dyck And The Print: The Iconography

In the early 1630s Van Dyck began a long-running project to make portrait prints, capitalizing on his fame as a portraitist.1 His sitters included aristocrats, soldiers, statesmen and scholars; the works exhibited here all show Van Dyck’s fellow artists. The series grew and developed over time, and would later be called The Iconography by a publisher. The venture required Van Dyck to take up printmaking himself and to collaborate with professional printmakers. Eighteen of the portraits were etched by Van Dyck. He also commissioned engravers to create prints after his own designs.

Impressions could be made at any time in the course of making a print, thus preserving a record of changes made to the plate; these are termed “states.” They offer a record of creativity, collaboration and revisions, some driven by aesthetic needs, some by the market.

Pieter Brueghel the Younger, a fellow painter, is exhibited here as Van Dyck left the plate: the quick sketch distils the portrait down to its essence. Van Dyck seems to have been completely satisfied with the result, and this is one of the few etchings by the artist that was not subsequently revised in engraving by a professional printmaker at his direction. Impressions of the plate left in this state were printed and the work was undoubtedly known to fellow artists and collectors. However, this and the other etchings made by Van Dyck were not originally included in the Iconography and the scale of their distibution is unclear. It may simply be that Van Dyck felt such freely treated works, which rejected the expectations for finish and polish, were out of keeping with public taste. Sometime after his death in 1641 the plates for all of Van Dyck’s portraits were bought up by Gillis Hendricx, who published them together, ending the distinction between the autograph etchings and those made by engravers after the artist’s designs. Hendricx made no attempt to “finish” this print, suggesting that Van Dyck’s work was now valued on its own terms.

In contrast, Adam van Noort – Jordaens’ teacher, father-in-law and the model for the sly jester in As the Old Sing, so the Young Pipe – is a collaborative work. Van Dyck etched the portrait, but counted on the engraver to elaborate the stone wall to set off Van Noort’s figure, and which he had indicated only summarily. Van Dyck laid down parallel lines in etching as a kind of foundation for a printmaker to develop and elaborate in engraving.2 It is exhibited in two states: the first shows the results of the artists’ combined labour, and the second as published by Hendricx.

Lucas Vorsterman, an engraver who worked closely with Rubens and later with Van Dyck, is exhibited here in three states. The first shows the plate as Van Dyck left it: it is considerably more developed than either Brueghel or Van Noort, yet equally immediate. No attempt was made to hide a pentiment – the line at the base that shows an alternate lower edge to the composition – and there are clear signs of Van Dyck’s first thoughts for the drapery on Vorsterman’s left arm. The plate is itself rather damaged, scratches run through the subject’s face and acid has accidently scarred the metal at top left. Copper plates can be easily damaged or scratched, and etching is often difficult to control, so such artefacts are often tolerated by printmakers. Yet Van Dyck seems unusually indifferent to the marks that emphasize the means of making the print – it is not simply an image, but an impression taken from a scarred copper plate. A later state attempts to mitigate the damage and adds a narrow frame and text. The third impression shows a significant change: parallel hatching is added in engraving, setting off the figure from the ground. And the sitter’s moustache is lightly modified where it had printed too dark. While Van Dyck did not feel it necessary to alter the image, Hendricx had these changes made in an attempt to make the print seem more finished. These changes transform the image in a subtle, but significant way.

These three impressions are mounted together in an album, likely assembled in the late nineteenth or early twentieth century. While less familiar to us now, this was a common practice by collectors in the past. Print collectors avidly sought different states of prints, valuing both their rarity and the insight they gave into the creative process.

Van Dyck also commissioned engravings from professional printmakers, providing them with models such as this drawing of Wenzel Cobergher, a painter and architect (illus. 1).3 He began by locating the forms in black chalk; a few pentiments are visible to the naked eye, such as the position of Cobergher’s right hand. The gesture was once more assertive and competed with that of his left. On reflection Van Dyck may have preferred only one to draw our attention. He then applied washes in different concentrations, taking care to reserve the white of the paper as highlights to guide the engraver. White gouache came next, added as the painter rethought the highlights.

The printmaker Vorsterman was responsible for turning the drawing into line that would both capture tone and describe form. The result is far more polished than Van Dyck’s etchings, and was published as a part of the Iconography, indicating the artist’s reading of contemporary taste. The sole major difference between the drawing and the print is in the position of his free hand, now out of the frame, continuing the development visible in the drawing. This suggests Van Dyck had instructed the printmaker through the process. The first state, exhibited here, is marked up with corrections, almost certainly by Van Dyck himself: darker wash shows where emphasis or shadow was required and indicates details to be added; white gouache (now discoloured) indicates where the white of the paper was to show through as highlights, or where the engraver was to lighten the tone by eliminating line. The wash and gouache make it difficult to interpret, but it is now clear that Vorsterman had to make extensive corrections, both adding and subtracting lines. This required him to burnish away lines he had already engraved, a laborious process – as for instance, on his proper right shoulder below his collar.4 The difficulty, combined with the subtlety of the changes adds weight to the claim they were made at Van Dyck’s direction. The print as completed is shown to the right.

Anthony van Dyck, Pieter Brueghel the Younger

from the series The Iconography. Early 1630s
Etching. 24.7 × 15.7 cm (plate)
A. Purchased 1948, no. 5217. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 2 state i (vi)
B. Purchased 1948, no. 5218. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 2 state iv (vi)

Anthony van Dyck and an unknown engraver, Adam van Noort

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s

Etching and engraving. 24.3 × 15.6 cm (plate)
A. Purchased 1948, no. 5232. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 8 state ii (vii).
B. Purchased 1948, no. 5233. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 8 state iv (vii)

Anthony van Dyck, Lucas Vorsterman the Elder

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s
Etching. 24.4 × 15.7 cm (plate)
A. Purchased 1948, no. 5247. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 14 state i (vii)
B. Purchased 1948, no. 5248. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 14 state ii (vii)
C. The background added in engraving. Purchased 1948, no. 5249. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 14 state v (vii)

Lucas Vorsterman the Elder after Anthony van Dyck, Wenzel Cobergher

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s
Engraving. 23.6 × 17.9 cm (plate)
A. A proof heightened with wash and gouache, likely by Van Dyck. Purchased 1948, no. 5353.
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 77 state i (vii)
B. Purchased 1948, no. 5354. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 77 state iii (vii)

Anthony van Dyck, Self-portrait

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s
Etching.11.9 × 10.8 cm (sheet, trimmed within platemark)
Purchased 1948, no. 5221
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 4 state: i (vii)

Paulus Pontius after Anthony van Dyck, Sir Peter Paul Rubens

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s
Engraving. 23.3 × 15.6 cm (plate)
Purchased 1948, no. 5333
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 62 state: iv (viii)

Pieter de Jode the Younger after Anthony van Dyck, Jacob Jordaens

from the series The Iconography, early 1630s
Engraving. 24.6 × 17.6 cm (plate)
Purchased 1948, no. 5293
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no. 33 state: ii (vi)


1 The fundamental studies are Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 and the volumes in New Hollstein Van Dyck by Simon Turner which offer catalogues of Van Dyck’s print production, and Antwerp & Amsterdam 1999–2000.

2 Antwerp & Amsterdam 1999–2000, p. 124, argues that after Van Dyck had etched the figure, he left the task of etching the wall to an assistant who misunderstood his directions, requiring later correction in engraving.

3 Vey 1962, no. 274.

4 The descriptions in Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991, no. 77 and New Hollstein Van Dyck pt. 2, no. 54, do not capture the full extent of the revisions.

Anthony van Dyck,
Pieter Brueghel the Younger, etching, 24.7 × 15.7 cm (plate). A. Purchased 1948, no. 5217. State i (vi)

Anthony van Dyck,
Pieter Brueghel the Younger, etching, 24.7 × 15.7 cm (plate). B. Purchased 1948, no. 5218. State iv (vi)

Anthony van Dyck and an unknown engraver, Adam van Noort, etching and engraving, 24.3 × 15.6 cm (plate). A. Purchased 1948, no. 5232. State ii (vii).

Anthony van Dyck and an unknown engraver, Adam van Noort, etching and engraving, 24.3 × 15.6 cm (plate). B. Purchased 1948, no. 5233. State iv (vii)

Anthony van Dyck,
Lucas Vorsterman the Elder, etching, 24.4 × 15.7 cm (plate). A. Purchased 1948, no. 5247. State i (vii)

Anthony van Dyck,
Lucas Vorsterman the Elder, etching, 24.4 × 15.7 cm (plate). B. Purchased 1948, no. 5248. State ii (vii)

Anthony van Dyck,
Lucas Vorsterman the Elder, etching, 24.4 × 15.7 cm (plate). C. The background added in engraving. Purchased 1948, no. 5249. State v (vii)

illus. 1

Anthony van Dyck,
Portrait of Wensel Coeberger, black chalk with wash, 22.4 × 19.8 cm. Collection Amsterdam Museum.

Lucas Vorsterman the Elder after Anthony van Dyck, Wenzel Cobergher, engraving, 23.6 × 17.9 cm (plate). A. A proof heightened with wash and gouache, likely by Van Dyck. Purchased 1948, no. 5353. State i (vii)

Lucas Vorsterman the Elder after Anthony van Dyck, Wenzel Cobergher, engraving, 23.6 × 17.9 cm (plate). B. Purchased 1948, no. 5354. State iii (vii)

Van Dyck et l'estampe : L'Iconographie

Profitant de sa réputation de portraitiste, Van Dyck entreprend au début des années 1630 de graver des portraits d'aristocrates, de militaires, d'hommes d'État, d'érudits, etc.1; les œuvres exposées ici représentent toutes des artistes. Cette série, qu'un éditeur intitulera plus tard L'iconographie, se développe au fil des ans. Pour réaliser son projet, Van Dyck doit se mettre lui-même à la gravure et collaborer avec des graveurs professionnels. Dix-huit portraits ont été gravés par lui. Van Dyck a aussi demandé à des graveurs de créer des estampes d'après ses propres dessins.

On peut tirer des épreuves à n'importe quel moment de la réalisation d'une estampe, de manière à conserver un relevé des changements faits sur la planche; ces épreuves sont appelées « états ». Elles permettent de suivre les créations, collaborations et révisions, bref, les modifications apportées soit pour des raisons esthétiques, soit pour des motifs de mise en marché.

Le portrait du peintre Pieter Brueghel le Jeune est exposé ici en l'état où Van Dyck l'a laissé : un croquis dans lequel il a saisi l'essentiel du personnage. Van Dyck semble avoir été entièrement satisfait du résultat, et c'est l'une de ses rares eau-fortes qui n'a pas été révisée au burin, sous sa direction, par un graveur professionnel. Des épreuves de cet état ont été tirées et elles étaient certainement connues des artistes et des collectionneurs. Toutefois, cette estampe et les autres eaux-fortes réalisées par Van Dyck ne faisaient pas partie de la première édition de L'Iconographie, et l'on ne sait pas très bien dans quelle mesure elles ont été diffusées. Il est possible que Van Dyck ait tout simplement cru que des œuvres aussi spontanées et d'une facture aussi libre ne correspondaient pas aux attentes ou au goût du public. À un certain moment après sa mort en 1641, les planches de tous ses portraits ont été achetées par Gillis Hendricx, qui les publia ensemble, mettant ainsi fin à la distinction entre les eaux-fortes autographes et les estampes réalisées par des graveurs d'après les dessins de Van Dyck. Hendricx n'a nullement essayé d' « achever » cette estampe, ce qui donne à penser que l'œuvre de Van Dyck était alors appréciée à sa valeur propre.

En revanche, le portrait d'Adam van Noort – professeur et beau-père de Jordaens, qui a servi de modèle pour le bouffon dans Les jeunes piaillent comme chantent les vieux – a été réalisé en collaboration. Van Dyck a gravé le portrait, mais s'en est remis à un graveur pour achever le mur de pierre contre lequel se détache le personnage; il avait sommairement indiqué ce mur par des lignes parallèles à l'eau-forte, que le graveur devait compléter et accentuer au burin2. Deux états de cette estampe sont exposés ici : le premier montre le travail combiné des deux artistes, le deuxième correspond à l'estampe publiée par Hendricx.

Le portrait de Lucas Vorsterman, graveur qui travailla en étroite collaboration avec Rubens et, plus tard, avec Van Dyck, est exposé ici en trois états. Le premier est tiré de la planche telle que l'a laissée Van Dyck : il est beaucoup plus développé que le portrait de Brueghel ou de Van Noort, mais tout aussi saisissant. Van Dyck n'a nullement cherché à cacher un repentir (la ligne à la base qui pourrait servir à recadrer la composition) et l'on voit bien comment il a d'abord pensé le drapé sur le bras gauche du modèle. La planche même est assez endommagée, le visage de Vorsterman est égratigné et des gouttes d'acide ont accidentellement mordu le métal en haut à gauche. Les plaques de cuivre peuvent facilement être abîmées, et le travail à l'eau-forte est hasardeux, de sorte que de telles marques sont souvent tolérées par les graveurs. Van Dyck semble indifférent à ces marques qui témoignent du mode de fabrication de l'estampe : celle-ci n'est pas qu'une image, mais une épreuve tirée d'une planche de cuivre abîmée. Sur le deuxième état, imprimé avec la lettre (c'est-à-dire le texte), les dommages sont atténués et le cadrage est resserré. Un important changement a été apporté sur la troisième épreuve : des hachures parallèles ont été ajoutées au burin, afin que le personnage se détache mieux du fond. En outre, la moustache de Vorsterman a été pâlie en certains endroits. Van Dyck n'avait pas cru nécessaire de modifier l'image, mais Hendricx a fait ces changements pour que l'estampe paraisse plus achevée. Il l'a ainsi transformée de manière subtile, mais significative.

Ces trois épreuves sont collées ensemble dans un album qui date vraisemblablement de la fin du xixe ou du début du xxe siècle. Cette pratique était autrefois courante chez les collectionneurs, avides de se procurer les différents états d'une même estampe, tant à cause de leur rareté que pour les renseignements qu'ils donnaient sur le processus créatif.

Van Dyck a aussi recouru aux services de graveurs professionnels à qui il fournissait des modèles. Ce fut le cas pour son portrait du peintre et architecte Wenzel Cobergher (ill. 1)3. Il a commencé par placer les formes à la pierre noire; quelques repentirs sont visibles à l'œil nu, par exemple dans la position de la main droite de Cobergher. Le geste, auparavant plus assuré, concurrençait celui de la main gauche. Réflexion faite, Van Dyck a peut-être préféré ne représenter qu'une main, pour attirer notre attention. Il a ensuite appliqué des lavis de différentes intensités, en prenant soin de réserver le blanc du papier pour les rehauts; puis, après avoir repensé les rehauts, il a retouché à la gouache blanche.

C'est le graveur Vorsterman qui a été chargé de transposer le dessin au burin, par des traits qui en rendraient bien à la fois les tons et les formes. Son estampe, beaucoup plus finie que les eaux-fortes de Van Dyck et publiée dans L'Iconographie, témoigne de sa compréhension du goût contemporain. La seule grande différence entre le dessin et l'estampe se trouve dans la position de la main libre, maintenant hors du cadre, mais laissant deviner la position qu'elle avait sur le dessin. Cela porte à croire que, durant tout le processus, il a reçu les instructions de Van Dyck. Les corrections, presque certainement par Van Dyck lui-même, figurent sur le premier état, exposé ici : le lavis plus foncé indique les endroits où il faut ajouter des accents, des ombres ou des détails, et la gouache blanche (maintenant décolorée), les endroits où le papier doit être laissé en blanc (pour les rehauts) ainsi que les endroits où le graveur doit éclaircir les tons en supprimant des lignes. Le lavis et la gouache compliquent l’interprétation du travail de Vorsterman, mais il est évident que celui-ci a fait de nombreuses corrections, et à la fois ajouté et supprimé des lignes. Il a donc dû enlever, par un laborieux polissage, des lignes déjà gravées – par exemple, sur l'épaule droite du modèle, sous le collet4. La difficulté et la subtilité de ces changements nous incitent à croire qu'ils ont été faits sous la direction de Van Dyck lui-même. L'estampe achevée figure à droite.

Antoine van Dyck, Pieter Brueghel le Jeune

de la série L’iconographie début des années 1630
Eau-forte, 24,7 × 15,7 cm (planche)
A. Acheté en 1948, no 5217. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 2, 1er état sur 6
B. Acheté en 1948, no 5218. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 2, 4e état sur 6

Antoine van Dyck et un graveur anonyme, Adam van Noort

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 24,3 × 15,6 cm (planche)
A. Acheté en 1948, no 5232. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 8, 2e état sur 7
B. Acheté en 1948, no 5233.Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 8, 4e état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck, Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Eau-forte, 24,4 × 15,7 cm (planche)
A. Acheté en 1948, no 5247. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 14, 1er état sur 7
B. Acheté en 1948, no 5248. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 14, 2e état sur 7
C. Fond ajouté au burin. Acheté en 1948, no 5249. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 14, 5e état sur 7

Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien (d’après Antoine van Dyck), Wenzel Cobergher

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Gravure au burin, 23,6 × 17,9 cm (planche)
A. Estampe avec rehauts de lavis et de gouache, probablement de la main de Van Dyck
Acheté en 1948, no 5353. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 77, 1er état sur 7
B. Acheté en 1948, no 5354. Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 77, 3e état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck, Autoportrait

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Eau-forte, 11,9 × 10,8 cm (feuille, rognée à l'intérieur de la cuvette)
Acheté en 1948, no 5221
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 4, 1er état sur 7

Paulus Pontius (d’après Antoine van Dyck), Pierre Paul Rubens

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Gravure au burin, 23,3 × 15,6 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1948, no 5333
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 62, 4e état sur 8

Pieter de Jode le Jeune (d’après Antoine van Dyck), Jacob Jordaens

de la série L’iconographie  début des années 1630
Gravure au burin, 24,6 × 17,6 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1948, no 5293
Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 no 33, 2e état sur 6


1 Les études fondamentales sont Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991 et Turner 2002 (soit les volumes de la collection « New Hollstein » qui offrent des catalogues de la production gravée de Van Dyck), ainsi qu'Anvers et Amsterdam 1999–2000.

2 On soutient dans Anvers et Amsterdam 1999–2000, p. 124, qu'après avoir gravé le personnage, Van Dyck a laissé la tâche de graver à eau-forte le mur à un assistant qui a mal compris ses directives, de sorte qu'il a fallu corriger ensuite au burin.

3Vey 1962, no 274.

4 Les descriptions dans Mauquoy-Hendrickx 1991, no 77, et dans Turner 2002, partie 2, no 54, ne rendent pas compte de l'étendue de ces corrections.

Antoine van Dyck,
Pieter Brueghel le Jeune, eau-forte, 24,7 × 15,7 cm (planche). A. Acheté en 1948, no 5217. 1er état sur 6

Antoine van Dyck,
Pieter Brueghel le Jeune, eau-forte, 24,7 × 15,7 cm (planche). B. Acheté en 1948, no 5218. 4e état sur 6

Antoine van Dyck et un graveur anonyme,
Adam van Noort, gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 24,3 × 15,6 cm (planche). A. Acheté en 1948, no 5232. 2e état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck et un graveur anonyme,
Adam van Noort, gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 24,3 × 15,6 cm (planche). B. Acheté en 1948, no 5233. 4e état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck, Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien, eau-forte, 24,4 × 15,7 cm (planche). A. Acheté en 1948, no 5247. 1er état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck, Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien, eau-forte, 24,4 × 15,7 cm (planche). B. Acheté en 1948, no 5248. 2e état sur 7

Antoine van Dyck, Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien, eau-forte, 24,4 × 15,7 cm (planche). C. Fond ajouté au burin. Acheté en 1948, no 5249. 5e état sur 7

illus. 1

Antoine van Dyck,
Portrait de Wensel Coeberger, pierre noire avec lavis, 22,4 × 19,8 cm. Collection Amsterdam Museum.

Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien (d’après Antoine van Dyck),
Wenzel Cobergher, gravure au burin, 23,6 × 17,9 cm (planche). A. Estampe avec rehauts de lavis et de gouache, probablement de la main de Van Dyck. Acheté en 1948, no 5353. 1er état sur 7

Lucas Vorsterman l’Ancien (d’après Antoine van Dyck),
Wenzel Cobergher, gravure au burin, 23,6 × 17,9 cm (planche). B. Acheté en 1948, no 5354. 3e état sur 7