The Painter and the Print

Rubens understood the value of prints in spreading an artist's fame and fostered close relationships with printmakers, attempting to make them sensitive to his needs and mould their style. Jordaens too exploited the medium, and Van Dyck – whose work is explored in a separate section – devoted considerable effort to it. Printmaking was collaborative, painters calling upon the services of other artists and craftsmen to assist them. Every print exhibited here was the result of an often complex process of creation. The creators' respective roles are often signalled by text inscribed on the prints themselves, yet much went unsaid.

The majority of these prints are engravings, a demanding technique requiring the artist to turn to a highly skilled printmaker. After the design was transferred to the surface of a copper plate, the printmaker would use a special tool to cut narrow channels into the metal; these channels held the ink. The lines of an engraving are precise and controlled, the black of the ink contrasting strongly with the white paper. The style is formal and "professional," revealing the hand of the trained engraver and his mastery of the craft. Engravings would normally be credited to both the artist who had created the composition and who – in the case of Rubens ­– carefully oversaw the process, and the printmaker who had "translated" the image into another medium – very different from the anonymity of workshop assistants, and a testament to the importance of the engravers, independent artists.

In contrast, etching required less professional training, and was well-suited to an amateur: a copper plate would first be coated with a layer of wax, through which the artist would draw with a point, revealing the metal below. Acid would then be applied, eating away the exposed copper (hence "etching"); the plate would then be cleaned, and the resulting troughs bitten into the plate would hold the ink. The line is freer, responsive to the painter's hand, but unable to easily convey emphasis. Its simplicity meant that painters had sometimes turned to it.

Rubens is known to have been interested in the technique and, although the attribution has been disputed, St. Catherine is likely by him, assisted by a printmaker.1 It dates to the early 1620s, at a time when Rubens was working on a cycle of ceiling paintings to decorate the newly built Jesuit church in Antwerp. The print is a close variation on the corresponding painting, even retaining its perspective, as if we are looking up at the saint above us.2 Rubens drew through the wax with a stylus to locate forms, then worked up the composition with hatching; a few pentiments, such as the drapery that once partly covered the saint's left arm as in the painting, are visible. 3 Etching the plate in acid required some experience and, although the result shows some imperfections, Rubens likely turned to a printmaker. Rubens then had a counterproof made, which he marked up with pen and ink to show where he wanted changes made 4 A trained printmaker then finished it, adding lines and little flecks by engraving to strengthen the shadows and modify form, subtly transforming the image. The copper plate was later engraved with the statement "P. Paul Rubens made [it]," ignoring the unknown engraver's contribution. It is unclear when this claim of sole authorship was added to the plate, and whether it was made by Rubens himself.

In the hands of the painter, etching was valued for its autograph qualities – the artist could create without relying on an engraver to act as intermediary. In the case of the St. Catherine, we know this was something of a fiction. Little is known about the public's perception of this print, however, given that the print lacks a privilege – effectively a warning that the design was not to be copied – we know it likely never entered the marketplace during Rubens' lifetime. It may have circulated privately among Rubens' circle of friends and acquaintances as a gift – assuming it was printed in any quantity. Its viewers would have recognized the model and been struck by the difference between this etching and the engravings made after Rubens' other paintings – a deliberate exercise on the artist's part following the precedent of painters who had turned to the medium before him. Rubens' print was informal, less polished and perhaps, to a man like Rubens, conscious of his public persona and dignity, more private and so unsuitable for widespread sale.5

The technique of etching also interested etchings are sometimes attributed to him, the subjects taken from religion, mythology and proverbial wisdom, giving a taste of his range. Certain compositions derive from paintings, others seem to have been made for the prints.6 The examples exhibited here show a proverb, " The master pulls the cow out of the ditch by its tail," meaning that if you want it done, you must do it yourself,  and a scene from mythology, the infant Jupiter being fed, greedily drinking from a goat's dugs.

The inscriptions simply claim Jordaens as the "inventor" of the images, not that he also made them. The division of labour between invention and execution was the foundation of the workshop, yet it is rarely stated so clearly as on prints. This group of etchings was attributed to him at least by the early eighteenth century, undoubtedly because of their technique and their roughness.7 These were considered the hallmarks of a painter's – not a professional printmaker's – work, where direct expression was more important than refinement and polish. We can easily imagine Jordaens making, or having made, these etchings in emulation of such painters' prints – if it were not for that fact that Jordaens did not make this claim. He ran a large, productive workshop and, in this context, the division between "inventing" and "making" was clear.8 Unlike Rubens, Jordaens seems not to have worked closely with printmakers; etching may have been a means of bypassing them, as it required less training and could be done in the artist's studio. For all their kinship to painters' occasional experiments in printmaking, perhaps these prints were simply meant to be different: rougher images made at Jordaens' direction, perhaps targeted at a different audience.

Woodcut was another printmaking technique practiced at this time.9 The printmaker tranfers the design to a piece of wood and, unlike engraving or etching, cuts away only those areas that are not to be printed; the remaining surface is inked and an impression is taken. The technique saw a revival c. 1600 in Italy, which must have influenced Rubens. In the early 1630s, Rubens turned to Christoffel Jegher to make a number of woodcuts; the results are distinctive, and Rubens must have been closely involved in their production. He began with a model, paying particular attention to tonal values, then either he or Jegher would have drawn on the wood block, translating tone into line.10 Susanna and the Elders, exhibited here, relies for much of its effect on parallel lines that describe surface topography, contrasted with the white of the paper, which acts as brilliant highlights on the figures. The swelling and tapering lines are precise and controlled, and the effect is like an engraving, only on a much larger scale. The result is caught between abstraction and description – flesh, fabric and stone are rendered uniform by the carefully controlled line, while the fountain is a tour-de-force, sensitively capturing the optical effects of the water falling into the pool.

The text may strike modern viewers as intrusive: it clearly demarcates the artists' responsibility, stating that Rubens "drew and published," while Jeghers "engraved," meaning carved the woodblock; the hierarchy between the two goes unsaid, but would have been clear to contemporaries. Rubens' privilege, a statement that the image was protected from piracy, is also added, and this print was intended for sale. The result is a remarkable accomplishment: the size of a small picture for a collector's cabinet, it is bold and refined, and among the most successful prints of its kind.


Attributed to Peter Paul Rubens together with an unknown engraver
Saint Catherine  early 1620s
Etching & engraving, 29.4 × 19.9 cm (plate)
Purchased 1931, no. 3848

Hind 1923 A1: state: iii (iii)

After Jacob Jordaens
The Master Pulls the Cow Out of the Ditch by its Tail  1652
Etching & engraving, 22.7 × 31.4 cm (plate)
Purchased 1976, no. 18645

d'Hulst 1993 B99

Here described as state: iii (iii). For an example of the first state before lettering see the impression in the British Museum, Department of Prints and Drawings, S.5011.

The title follows d'Hulst in Antwerp 1993, no. B99. The subject is sometimes claimed to be a mythological scene, Cacus Stealing the Cattle of Hercules; the first instance dates to the early eighteenth century, when it was used by the Mariette family of print publishers and sellers (as discussed in the text above). Presumably the Mariettes were misled by the presence of the other mythological scenes among the seven etchings in this group and assumed Jordaens was treating the subject in an almost burlesque fashion.

After Jacob Jordaens
The Infant Jupiter Fed by the Goat Amalthea 1652
Etching, 21.4 × 29.7 cm (plate)
Purchased 1973, no. 17206

d'Hulst 1993 B96: state: i (ii)

Christoffel Jegher after Peter Paul Rubens
Susanna and the Elders
c. 1632–35
Woodcut. 43.7 × 57.5 cm (block)
Purchased 1999, no. 40099

Hollstein vol. ix, Jegher no. 1
Here described as state: ii (iii). The 1st state, a proof, is in the Stedelijk Pretenkabinet, Antwerp.

1 See Hind 1923, Vleighe 1972, no. 75, and Renger 1975, pp. 166–170 for a discussion of the attribution to Rubens.

2 Rubens made a painted model (now lost) in preparation for the work, and would have turned to this when working on the print; the ceiling painting was itself destroyed by fire, but is known through copies, see Martin 1968, no. 26.

3 Judging from what is likely a broadly accurate copy by Müller, reproduced as Martin 1968, fig. 139.

4 The act of printing produces an impression that is the mirror-image of the copper plate; a counterproof reverses this, giving an image on the paper that is in the same orientation as the plate. It is useful for making corrections. proof is in the Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY, acc. no. 22.67.3.

5 No census of impression has been made, and so there is little evidence as to the history of printing. It is generally assumed that the inscription was added only after Rubens' death, to prepare it for publication; Renger 1975, pp. 168, 170.

6 See Antwerp 1993, nos. B93–99 for a concise analysis.

7 See the comments by Pierre-Jean Mariette, recording the opinions of his father, in a ms. catalogue of the print collection they assembled for Prince Eugène of Savoy, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris, Cabinet des estampes, ms. Ya 2-4-pet fol., tome 4, under Jordaens, "... sont suivant toutes les apparances de la graveure de J. Jordaens, comme elles sont aussi de son invention,["according to all appearances, made by Jordaens, just as they were also designed by him"].

8 For a different view see Jaffé in Ottawa 1968, pp. 239–240.

9 See Renger 1975, pp. 172 ff. on the woodcuts. On the Susanna and the Elders, see pp. 174–177.

10 New York 2005, p. 263 on their respective roles, as seen in a preparatory drawing for the woodcut Garden of Love: A-M. Logan argues that Jegher revised the drawing, marking it up to show Rubens how he would translate tone into line.

Attributed to Peter Paul Rubens together with an unknown engraver, Saint Catherine, early 1620s, etching & engraving, 29.4 × 19.9 cm (plate). Purchased 1931, no. 3848

After Jacob Jordaens, The Master Pulls the Cow Out of the Ditch by its Tail, 1652, etching & engraving, 22.7 × 31.4 cm (plate). Purchased 1976, no. 18645

After Jacob Jordaens,
The Infant Jupiter Fed by the Goat Amalthea, 1652, etching, 21.4 × 29.7 cm (plate). Purchased 1973, no. 17206

Christoffel Jegher after Peter Paul Rubens,
Susanna and the Elders, c. 1632–35, woodcut, 43.7 × 57.5 cm (block). Purchased 1999, no. 40099

Le peintre et l'estampe

Rubens comprenait combien l’estampe pouvait étendre la renommée d'un artiste et entretenait d'étroites relations avec les graveurs, cherchant à les sensibiliser à ses besoins et à façonner leur style. Jordaens a lui aussi exploité ce moyen d'expression et Van Dyck – que nous étudions dans une autre section – s'y est adonné avec beaucoup de sérieux. La fabrication d'une estampe était un travail d’équipe, les peintres faisant appel à d'autres artistes et artisans pour les seconder. Chacune des estampes exposées ici est l'aboutissement d'un processus de création souvent complexe. D'ordinaire, le rôle de chacun des créateurs est indiqué par des inscriptions sur les estampes mêmes, mais tout n'y est pas toujours dit.

La plupart des estampes de Rubens sont des gravures au burin, une technique difficile pour laquelle le peintre s'en remet à un graveur chevronné. Une fois le dessin reporté sur la planche de cuivre, le graveur creuse dans le métal, à l'aide d'un instrument tranchant, d'étroits sillons qui retiendront l'encre. Les traits au burin sont nets et précis, et le noir de l'encre contraste avec le blanc du papier. Le style est convenu, « professionnel », signe de l'intervention d'un graveur de métier et de sa maîtrise de l'outil. Habituellement, l'estampe est reconnue comme étant l'œuvre commune de l'artiste qui a créé l'image (et qui, dans le cas de Rubens, surveillait attentivement le processus) et du graveur qui a « traduit » l'image au burin. Contrairement aux assistants d'atelier, qui demeuraient anonymes, les graveurs étaient des artistes indépendants dont on reconnaissait l'importance.

En revanche, la gravure à l’eau-forte demande moins de pratique et convient à un amateur. La planche de cuivre est d'abord enduite d'une couche de cire dans laquelle l'artiste trace le dessin avec une pointe d'acier, de manière à révéler le métal. La planche est ensuite exposée à l'acide, qui attaquera les parties du métal mises à nu – c'est la morsure. Puis, elle est nettoyée; les creux retiendront l'encre. Le trait gravé à l'eau-forte est plus spontané que le trait buriné, mais il rend moins bien les accents. Les peintres ont parfois recouru à cette technique à cause de sa simplicité.

On sait que Rubens s'est intéressé à l'eau-forte et, bien que l'attribution ait été contestée, c'est vraisemblablement lui qui a réalisé Sainte Catherine, avec l'aide d'un graveur1. Cette estampe date du début des années 1620, période où il travaillait à un cycle de peintures pour les plafonds de l'église des Jésuites récemment construite à Anvers. C'est une très proche variante de la peinture correspondante et elle en retient même la perspective, comme si nous regardions vers le haut la sainte au-dessus de nous2. Rubens a dessiné dans la cire avec un stylet pour placer les formes, puis travaillé la composition en hachures; quelques repentirs sont visibles, notamment dans le drapé qui couvrait partiellement le bras gauche de sainte Catherine, tout comme dans la peinture3. Pour « mordre » la planche à l'acide, il fallait une certaine expérience et, bien que l'estampe ne soit pas parfaite, Rubens a dû faire appel à un graveur. Il a ensuite fait tirer une contre-épreuve sur laquelle il a noté à la plume et à l'encre les changements à apporter4. Le graveur a achevé le travail, ajoutant des lignes et de petites incisions au burin pour accentuer les ombres et modifier la forme, ce qui a subtilement transformé l'image. L'inscription P. Paul Rubens fecit a été gravée plus tard dans la planche, de sorte que la contribution du graveur a été ignorée. On ne sait pas exactement quand cette inscription a été ajoutée, ni si elle a été gravée par Rubens lui-même.

Le peintre appréciait la gravure à l'eau-forte parce qu'elle lui permettait de créer sans l'aide d'un intermédiaire. Dans le cas de Sainte Catherine, toutefois, cette idée n'est pas tout à fait juste. Nous savons peu de choses sur la perception populaire de cette estampe; toutefois, étant donné qu'elle n'était pas assortie d'un privilège, c'est-à-dire d'une interdiction de copier l'image, nous savons qu'elle n'a probablement jamais été mise en marché du vivant de Rubens. L'artiste a pu la donner en cadeau à des amis et à des connaissances – en supposant qu'il en ait tiré un certain nombre d'épreuves. Ceux qui l'ont vue en auraient reconnu le modèle; ils auraient été frappés par la différence entre cette eau-forte et les burins faits d'après d'autres peintures de Rubens; ils l'auraient interprétée comme un exercice délibéré de la part de l'artiste pour s'essayer à l'eau-forte, à l'instar d'autres peintres avant lui. Rubens n'a pas respecté de règles strictes et son estampe est moins achevée. En homme honnête et soucieux de préserver sa réputation, il la considérait peut-être comme une œuvre personnelle, peu appropriée pour la vente5.

La gravure à l'eau-forte intéressait également Jordaens, mais il est impossible de dire s'il l'a vraiment essayée. Sept eaux-fortes lui sont parfois attribuées, sur des sujets puisés dans la religion, la mythologie ou les proverbes, ce qui donne un aperçu de la diversité de ses goûts. Certaines sont tirées de peintures, d'autres semblent avoir été conçues expressément pour être gravées6. Les deux eaux-fortes exposées ici illustrent, l'une un proverbe, Le propriétaire sort la vache du fossé en la tirant par la queue – signifiant que si l'on veut qu'une chose soit faite, il faut la faire soi-même –, l'autre une scène mythologique, où le petit Jupiter boit goulûment au pis d'une chèvre.

Les inscriptions disent simplement que Jordaens est « l'inventeur » des images; elles ne disent pas qu'il les a également gravées. La division du travail entre inventeur et exécutant(s) était le fondement même de l'atelier, mais elle n'est jamais aussi clairement affirmée que sur les estampes. Ces eaux-fortes ont été attribuées à Jordaens au moins dès le début du XVIIIe siècle, sans doute à cause de leur manière et de leur caractère fruste7. Elles étaient considérées comme des œuvres de peintre – et non de graveur professionnel –, où l'expression spontanée importe plus que le raffinement ou le fini. On imagine facilement Jordaens les avoir faites dans un esprit d'émulation, quoique lui-même ne l'ait jamais prétendu. Jordaens dirigeait un grand atelier où la division entre invention et fabrication était claire8. Contrairement à Rubens, il ne semble pas avoir travaillé en étroite collaboration avec des graveurs; l'eau-forte lui permettait peut-être d'éviter d'avoir recours à leurs services, puisqu'elle exigeait moins d'expérience et pouvait être pratiquée dans son atelier même. Bien que ces images ressemblent à d'autres estampes occasionnellement réalisées par des peintres, Jordaens les voulait peut-être différentes : rudimentaires, gravées sous sa direction et peut-être destinées à un public particulier.

La gravure sur bois est un autre procédé d'impression employé à l'époque9. Le graveur reporte le dessin sur un bloc de bois et, contrairement à ce qui se fait au burin ou à l'eau-forte, n'enlève que les parties qui ne seront pas imprimées; la surface qui reste en relief est ensuite encrée et les épreuves sont tirées. Ce procédé a connu un regain d'intérêt en Italie vers 1600, ce qui a dû influencer Rubens. Au début des années 1630, il a demandé à Christoffel Jegher de réaliser un certain nombre de gravures sur bois; les résultats sont caractéristiques de sa manière et Rubens a fort probablement participé à leur production. Il a commencé avec un modèle, en accordant une attention particulière aux valeurs tonales, puis Jegher ou lui-même a reporté le modèle sur bois, en exprimant les valeurs tonales par des lignes10. Dans la gravure Susanne et les vieillards, exposée ici, le gros de l'effet est produit par les lignes parallèles qui décrivent la topographie du lieu et contrastent avec le blanc du papier qui crée de brillants rehauts sur les personnages. Les lignes renflées et effilées sont précises; on dirait une gravure au burin, mais en beaucoup plus grand format. L'image est à la fois descriptive et abstraite : chairs, étoffes et pierres sont traitées de la même manière, d'un trait soigneusement maîtrisé, et la fontaine, où sont délicatement captés les effets optiques de l'eau coulant dans le bassin, est un véritable tour de force.

Aux yeux des spectateurs d'aujourd'hui, les inscriptions peuvent paraître gênantes, mais elles distinguent clairement le rôle de chaque artiste : Rubens a « dessiné et publié » l'estampe, Jegher l'a « gravée » dans le bois; le rapport hiérarchique entre les deux n'est pas précisé, mais les contemporains l'auraient facilement compris. Le « privilège » de Rubens, qui protège l'image contre le piratage, est également indiqué; cette gravure était destinée à la vente. Voilà une remarquable estampe de cabinet, d'un format susceptible d'intéresser les collectionneurs, une image hardie et raffinée, parmi les plus réussies du genre.


Attribué à Pierre Paul Rubens et à un graveur anonyme
Sainte Catherine début des années 1620
Gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 29,4 × 19,9 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1931, no 3848

Hind 1923 A1 : 3e état sur 3

D'après Jacob Jordaens
Le propriétaire sort la vache du fossé en la tirant par la queue 1652
Gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 22,7 × 31,4 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1976, no 18645

d’Hulst 1993 B99

Ici décrit en tant que 3e état sur 3. Pour un exemple du 1er état avant la lettre, voir l'épreuve du British Museum, Cabinet des estampes et dessins, S.5011.

D'après le titre donné par d'Hulst dans Anvers 1993, no B99. Certains estiment que cette estampe représente une scène mythologique, Cacus dérobant les vaches d'Hercule; ce titre a pour la première fois été utilisé au début du XVIIIe siècle par les Mariette, famille d'éditeurs et de marchands d'art (voir note 7); ils avaient sans doute été induits en erreur par la présence d'autres scènes mythologiques parmi les sept eaux-fortes attribuées à Jordaens et supposaient que Jordaens avait traité le sujet sur un mode presque burlesque.

D'après Jacob Jordaens
Jupiter enfant nourri par la chèvre Amalthée 1652
Eau-forte, 21,4 × 29,7 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1973, no 17206

d’Hulst 1993 B96 : 1er état sur 2

Christoffel Jegher (d’après Pierre Paul Rubens)
Susanne et les vieillards v. 1632–1635
Gravure sur bois, 43,7 × 57,5 cm (planche)
Acheté en 1999, no 40099

Hollstein vol. ix, Jegher no 1

Ici décrit comme 2e état sur 3. Le 1er état, une épreuve d'essai, se trouve au Stedelijk Pretenkabinet, Anvers.


1 Voir Hind 1923, Vleighe 1972, no 75, et Renger 1975, p. 166–170 pour une discussion de l'attribution à Rubens.

2 Rubens a peint un modello (aujourd'hui perdu) dont il s'est vraisemblablement servi pour réaliser l'estampe; la peinture de la voûte, détruite par le feu, est connue par des copies, voir Martin 1968, no 26.

3 À en juger par ce qui est une copie passablement fidèle de Müller, reproduite dans Martin 1968, fig. 139.

4 L'image imprimée sur papier est inversée par rapport à celle qui se trouve sur la planche de cuivre. La contre-épreuve fait voir l'image dans le même sens que sur la planche; elle est utile pour faire des corrections. L'épreuve d'essai se trouve au Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, no d'acquisition 22.67.3.

5 Aucune recension des tirages n'ayant été réalisée, l'histoire de l'estampe est peu connue. On s'entend généralement pour dire que l'inscription n'a été ajoutée qu'après la mort de Rubens, en prévision de la publication; Renger 1975, p. 168, 170.

6 Voir Anvers 1993, nos B93–99 pour une analyse concise.

7 Voir les commentaires de Pierre-Jean Mariette, consignant les opinions de son père, dans le catalogue manuscrit de la collection d'estampes du prince Eugène de Savoie, Bibliothèque nationale de France, Paris, Cabinet des estampes, ms. Ya 2-4-pet fol., tome 4, sous Jordaens, « […] sont suivant toutes les apparences de la gravure de J. Jordaens, comme elles sont aussi de son invention ».

8 Pour une opinion différente, voir Jaffé dans Ottawa 1968, p. 242–243.

9 À propos des gravures sur bois, voir Renger 1975, p. 172 et suiv. Sur Susanne et les vieillards, voir p. 174–177.

10 Sur le rôle de chacun, tel que révélé par le dessin préparatoire pour la gravure sur bois Le jardin d'amour, voir New York 2005, p. 263 : A.-M. Logan soutient que Jegher a révisé le dessin, pour montrer à Rubens comment il exprimerait en lignes les valeurs tonales.

Attribué à Pierre Paul Rubens et à un graveur anonyme, Sainte Catherine, début des années 1620. Gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin. Acheté en 1931, no 3848

D'après Jacob Jordaens,
Le propriétaire sort la vache du fossé en la tirant par la queue, 1652, gravure à l’eau-forte et au burin, 22,7 × 31,4 cm (planche). Acheté en 1976, no 18645

D'après Jacob Jordaens,
Jupiter enfant nourri par la chèvre Amalthée, 1652, eau-forte, 21,4 × 29,7 cm (planche). Acheté en 1973, no 17206

Christoffel Jegher (d’après Pierre Paul Rubens),
Susanne et les vieillards, v. 1632–1635, gravure sur bois, 43,7 × 57,5 cm (planche). Acheté en 1999, no 40099