Jacob Jordaens

A Young Cavalier Executing a Levade  c. 1645
a model for a tapestry from the series The Large Horses
Oil on canvas, 97.7 × 153.2 cm
Purchased 1965 no. 14810

When first sold at auction in 1833, this painting was identified as an allegory of the education of the young Prince Frederick Henry of Nassau. It was not uncommon to attach the name of an historic figure to such enigmatic scenes, but the young rider does not represent any specific person. He is in the company of Mercury and, more significantly, Mars, symbol of martial prowess and who acts as riding master. They oversee him demonstrating a levade, an exercise in which the horse is made to raise its forelegs and chest, and hold the position. A gathering of figures at the palace entrance, likely the young man’s family, look on. The god Cupid clings to the skirts of the woman, alluding to domestic happiness. At left, a slave stands in attendance with hunting hounds and a parrot, further reinforcing the aristocratic setting.

This allegory is one of four surviving paintings made as models for a series of eight tapestries, now called The Large Horses.1 Jordaens designed these, likely in the mid-1640s, for the merchants Leyniers and Reydams of Brussels. Providing such designs was an important part of Jordaens’ workshop production. The Large Horses celebrates the horse and man’s mastery of it, from its mythological creation to the modern day riding school – appropriate subject matter for aristocratic and noble patrons.

The inspiration, and perhaps the impetus for the set, came from Crispin de Passe’s illustrations to Antoine de Pluvinel’s manual Le maneige royal, published in 1623. Pluvinel had been riding master to Louis XIII, and the images show the king and his contemporaries learning the art of dressage. However, Jordaens was less concerned with the technical aspects of horsemanship. Instead, he celebrated the subject’s inherent pageantry and added mythological elements including the figures of Mars, Mercury and Venus, among others. The tapestries are not part of a narrative cycle; rather they are linked by the recurrent figures of the horse and rider and the ancient gods. The role played by the gods in the individual scenes is unclear, perhaps because they offer nothing more than apposite trappings, glamorizing the cult of horsemanship.2 If there is any larger meaning to be drawn from the set, it is the idea of balance and dominance achieved by the rider’s control of himself, and of the horse.

While not all of the painted models for the eight tapestries survive – if indeed, they were fully worked up in oil – and only one full set of tapestries exists (now in Vienna), we can reconstruct Jordaens’ process to some degree.3 From the painting, the design would have been first transferred to a composite piece of paper of comparable size to the planned tapestry – a cartoon. The simplest means of doing this was by “squaring up,” a process by which a grid of squares would be superimposed over the painting, with correspondingly enlarged squares drawn on the cartoon. The squares provided a reference grid, allowing forms to be accurately mapped from painting to paper. There is no evidence of the means of squaring left on the Ottawa canvas. On two panels made by Rubens as models for tapestries (Life of Achilles, Courtauld Institute), a series of equidistant notches were cut into all four sides to allow for a lattice of strings to be accurately strung and held in place. Such a solution would have been obvious, and – with modifications appropriate to the support – could have been used here. The drawn cartoon would then be coloured; Jordaens favoured water- and body-colour. Changes or corrections could be made at this stage.4 In the case of the Ottawa painting, the rider is a young man, perhaps in his teens, while the tapestry shows a different, older man. As the head is taken from another work by Jordaens, also on the subject of horsemanship, we can assume a close connection with the artist in this particular case – even if the change partly upsets the narrative: the figures in the background can no longer be the rider’s parents.5

The cartoon would have then been given to the tapestry merchants who had commissioned it. Tapestries are woven on a loom strung with threads running in only one direction, under which the cartoon is placed. The weaver follows the design, using coloured threads to form the image. The threads are knotted on to what will become the back of the tapestry, so that the cartoon image is ultimately reversed. Due to loom sizes, the tapestries are woven in sections, and a cartoon may be cut, rolled or folded accordingly. As this could damage a valuable component of the tapestry merchant’s stock, a substitute cartoon, made from the first, is sometimes used. The painted model and the sole surviving tapestry correspond closely, but not exactly; there appear to be slight changes in the relative scale and positioning of figures and groups – which might well be accidental. A comparison of another painted model from the series to its tapestry, however, shows distinct changes in the scale of the horse and rider that can attributed to either Jordaens’ rethinking of scale for the primary cartoon, or through an intermediate cartoon used in the process.6 In this work, the same tapestry crops the image and eliminates a building. The tapestry after the Ottawa painting similarly removes the slave, parrot and dogs (illus. 1).

The business of tapestry making clearly involved collaboration between the designers and makers, with an added complication that weaving might wait for a buyer or could be made on speculation. In the case of the Large Horses, the documentary evidence suggests the designs were commissioned from Jordaens on speculation, but that the weavings – certainly the Vienna set – were not commenced until there was a buyer.7

Unavoidably, there is need to adapt the original design to the tapestry medium, and the result is interpretative: colour, the coarseness of the weave, and which details to capture or ignore from the cartoon, as well as if and how to crop, edit or simplify. Merchants would also make significant revisions to cartoons. In the case of the Large Horses, they commissioned Jordaens to design new compositions on the subject of horsemanship, but also adapted – likely with his help – an earlier set of cartoons that copied the illustrations from Pluvinel’s Maneige royal, known as the Small Horses. When weaving a set, the tapestry makers selected from both sets of cartoons; they also created hybrids, drawing on motifs from both sets.8

Jordaens was fully aware of the commercial imperative that drove tapestry production and must have known his designs could be altered. Interestingly, in the Ottawa painting, the composition is designed in such a way that if it were to be cropped, the choice must have seemed inevitable: cutting off the figure of slave, it still remains balanced, and the central mass moves from the horse to the head of the rider, a focus reinforced by the diagonals of the architecture. Other pictures in the series show similar strategies. Arguably, they reveal Jordaens’ sophisticated understanding of the tapestry medium – creating designs that permit changes to be made, and possibly even directing these changes through compositional devices. Whatever the case, the extant weavings reveal how the tapestry makers interpreted and adapted Jordaens’ rhythmic, decorative designs, in which the elimination of one part did not disrupt the whole.

Thus far, we have considered the Ottawa painting as a model for tapestry production, and, indeed, it could have been made as a presentation piece to the commissioners. Not all the tapestries in the series have a surviving painted model, and of course, Jordaens did not need to produce such models – cartoons could have been based on detailed drawings, avoiding the time-consuming process of painting in oil. The Ottawa painting was clearly intended to have an independent life once it had served its function as a model. Other paintings made for the same series are of different dimensions, and one is a workshop piece9: the only conclusion we can draw firmly from this is that the paintings were never intended to be sold afterwards as a set. The Levade is ultimately an independent painting.

Although painted sensitively, The Levade is also controlled and precise. There are few adjustments or pentiments, and it must have been planned carefully. Jordaens would have depended upon detailed preparatory studies, as was his usual practice. As such, the underdrawing is correspondingly neat, and was followed closely in the painting. Only in the grouping of the slave and the dogs does the underdrawing show greater freedom: the line looser, the contours shifting as it was drawn freehand. (This is visible to the naked eye in the thinly painted dog at left.) It is interesting to note that this section, which Jordaens cannot have planned so fully in the preparatory stage, was later eliminated in its surviving tapestry. This group may have been argued to be a decorative embellishment, extraneous to the central theme, placed there to balance Mars and Mercury and to frame the young rider. As he worked toward balancing the composition, Jordaens deviated only once from the underdrawing: the young rider’s hat was enlarged, giving this focal point greater visual weight. This kind of change could easily follow from developing ideas worked out on smaller drawings.

Proof that Jordaens intended the painting as an independent work is offered by the use of the pigment ultramarine as an admixture in the sky and Mercury’s robe, and in the original painting of Mars’ armour – a unnecessary expense for a model. More than this, he returned to the painting after completing the cartoon, inserting a golden statue of Neptune over a fully-painted column in the portico, as seen in the tapestry. Mars’ armour, previously a stronger blue, was tempered by a duller green scumble, likely due to his proximity to the strong, warm lead tin yellow of the newly inserted statue. Jordaens also embellished the painting visually: Neptune, who appears in another scene in the series, was the creator of the horse, and this additional mythological reference makes the painting more complex and intellectually satisfying.

Physical History and Technical Notes

When the painting was purchased at auction in 1965, it came with a 19th-century glue paste lining and stretcher. Stephen Rees Jones, who examined the work before the auction, noted that the painting had been restored and appeared to be in favourable condition. A note in the curatorial file suggests that it was cleaned for the 1956 Bruges exhibition. No work has been done on it since.

The painting’s framing history is of interest: at the time of purchase, it had a simple, early 19th-century English frame with press-moulded decoration, appropriate for the date it was bought by Lord Northwick, but in fact cut down from a larger dimension. The Gallery reframed it in a 19th-century imitation of a 17th-century frame when it was purchased in 1965. Repenting this in 1984, it was reframed in a heavily modified mid 1660s Dutch Lutma-type.

Provenance

Christian Johannes Nieuwenhuys (1799–1883); his sale, Christie’s, London, 10 May and following 1833, (this lot 10 May), lot no. 31, Jordaens, “An Allegorical Subject,” described as showing Prince Frederick Henry of Nassau on horseback; bought £10.10 by Dunford for John Rushout, 2nd Baron Northwick (1769–1859); by descent to Edward George Spencer-Churchill (1876–1964); his sale, Christie’s, London 28 May 1965, lot no. 45, Jordaens, “An Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince”; bought 65,000 guineas by the Gallery through Agnew, London.

Exhibition History

  • 1938 London, Royal Academy, Seventeenth-Century Art in Europe, no. 84, “Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince”
  • 1953–54 London, Royal Academy, Flemish Art 1300–1700, no. 363, “Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince of Orange”
  • 1956 Bruges, Groeningemuseum, L’art flamand dans les collections britanniques et la Galerie nationale de Victoria, no. 79, “A Riding Lesson with Mars and Mercury,” c. 1645–50.
  • 1967 London, Christie’s, Bi-Centenary Exhibition, no. 21, “The Education of a Prince”
  • 1968–69 Ottawa, National Gallery of Canada, Jacob Jordaens, no. 88, “A Young Cavalier Executing a Passade in the Presence of Mercury and Mars,” c. 1645
  • 1980 Indianapolis, Indianapolis Museum of Art (on loan)
  • 1993 Antwerp, Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten, Jacob Jordaens (1593–1678), no. A74, “Levade Performed under the Auspices of Mars and in the Presence of Mercury,” c. 1645
  • 1998–99 Mexico City, Museo Nacional de San Carlos & Ferrara, Palazzo dei Diamanti, Rubens e il suo secolo, no. 42, c. 1645
  • 2006–07 Edmonton, Art Gallery of Alberta; Victoria, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria; & Winnipeg, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Baroque Masterworks from the National Gallery of Canada, p. 21

Selected References

  • Rooses 1908, p. 184, describes the Vienna tapestries
  • Held 1949, on the iconography
  • McNairn in Laskin & Pantazzi 1987, pp. 152–153, c. 1645
  • Liedtke in Bauman & Liedtke 1992, pp. 226–228, no. 70, c. 1645
  • Nelson 1998, pp. 37–42, 128–129, no. 40a, c. 1645
  • Hefford 2003, tentatively dated to c. 1633

1 Nelson 1998 is the essential reference. Hefford 2003 offers a significant different re-interpretation of this material, and argues that the paintings date to the early 1630s.

2 Held 1949 argued for astrological symbolism: the gods/planets Mars and Mercury are associated with different horse temperaments. Nelson 1998, p. 41, drawing on contemporary material on horsemanship, sees the references as more general, “courtly,” and easily intelligible; for instance, Mars represents courage.

3 Nelson 1998, pp. 40–41 analyzes the Vienna set, and notes that three of them – smaller tapestries showing the horse and rider accompanied by Mars in landscape backgrounds – are effectively taken, with some modifications, from the so-called Small Horses, a set of tapestries based closely on the illustrations to Pluvinel’s Maneige royal. Jordaens would not have had to make painted models for these – indeed, if he was deeply involved with their creation. Also see Nelson 1985–86 for a discussion of Jordeans’ approaches to design for tapestry.

4 Nelson 1985–86 p. 221 for an example of Jordaens making alterations at the cartoon stage, in this case re-introducing a motif present in the first preparatory drawing.

5 A Cavalier on a Horse Executing the Levade, Springfield Museum of Fine Arts. See Nelson 1998, pp. 131–132 on the relationship.

6 A Levade Performed Under the Auspices of Mars and in the Presence of Mercury, Venus and a Riding Master (Antwerp, Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten).

7 It is unclear who commissioned the Vienna set, which was bought in 1666 through a Vienna-based dealer for the occasion of the marriage of the Emperor Leopold I. Given the cost of the gold and silver thread used in this set, the weavers are unlikely to have made it on speculation.

8See Nelson 1989, p. 42, who notes that each set of tapestries on horsemanship differs due to this practice. Hefford 2003, while agreeing as to the role of the tapestry merchants in driving this process, argues for a very different interpretation of the surviving material.

9 The work titled A Levade Performed under the Auspices of Mars and in the Presence of Mercury, Venus and a Riding Master, see note 6.

illus. 1

After Jacob Jordaens, The Levade, c. 1650–60, tapestry, 410 x 508 cm. Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienna

Jacob Jordaens

Jeune cavalier en levade v. 1645
modèle pour une tapisserie de la série Les grands chevaux
Huile sur toile, 97,7 × 153,2 cm
Acheté en 1965, no 14810

À sa première vente aux enchères en 1833, on définissait cette peinture comme une allégorie sur l’éducation équestre du jeune prince Frédéric-Henri de Nassau. Adjoindre le nom d’une figure historique à de telles scènes énigmatiques n’était pas rare, mais ce jeune cavalier ne représente personne en particulier. Il est accompagné de Mercure et surtout de Mars, symbole de prouesses martiales, ici maître d’équitation. Les deux divinités supervisent le jeune homme tandis qu’il fait la démonstration d’une levade, exercice qui consiste à amener le cheval à se dresser sur ses membres postérieurs et à garder cette position. À l’entrée du palais, un groupe, probablement la famille du jeune homme, observe la scène. Cupidon s’accroche aux jupes de la femme – allusion au bonheur domestique. À gauche, un esclave debout, avec des chiens de chasse et un perroquet, ajoute au caractère aristocratique du décor.

Cette allégorie est l’une des quatre peintures qui restent des modelli faits pour un cycle de huit tapisseries maintenant intitulé Les grands chevaux1. Jordaens les a exécutés, probablement vers 1645, pour les marchands bruxellois Leyniers et Reydams. Produire des modèles constituait une part importante de la production de l’atelier de Jordaens. Les grands chevaux rend hommage au cheval et à sa maîtrise par l’homme depuis sa création mythologique jusqu’à l’école d’équitation moderne – sujet bien adapté à une clientèle noble.

L’inspiration et peut-être l’impulsion de la série venaient des illustrations réalisées par Crispin de Passe pour Le maneige royal, manuel d’Antoine de Pluvinel publié en 1623. Pluvinel avait été maître d’équitation de Louis XIII; les images de son manuel montrent le roi et ses contemporains apprenant l’art du dressage. Cependant, au lieu de s’intéresser principalement aux aspects techniques de l’équitation, Jordaens a célébré l’apparat inhérent au sujet et ajouté des éléments mythologiques, par exemple les figures de Mars, Mercure et Vénus. Les tapisseries ne forment pas un cycle narratif; ce qui les relie, ce sont plutôt les figures récurrentes du cavalier et des divinités antiques. Les dieux ne jouent un rôle évident dans aucune des scènes, peut-être parce qu’ils ne présentent rien de plus que des attributs liés au culte de l’art équestre2. Si la série a une signification plus large, c’est l’idée d’équilibre et de domination, incarnée par la maîtrise exercée par le cavalier sur lui-même et sa monture.

Bien que les modèles peints pour les huit tapisseries ne subsistent pas tous (si tant est qu’ils aient tous été réalisés à l’huile) et bien qu’il n’existe qu’une série complète de tapisseries (maintenant à Vienne), nous pouvons reconstituer dans une certaine mesure le travail de Jordaens3. À partir de la toile, le motif aurait d’abord été reporté sur un « carton », c’est-à-dire du papier de dimensions comparables à celles de la future tapisserie. Le procédé le plus simple de report aurait été la mise au carreau : on superpose à la toile un quadrillage et, au carton, un quadrillage à l’échelle désirée. Les carreaux servent de référence et permettent de transposer précisément les formes de la toile sur ce carton. Le tableau d’Ottawa ne montre rien qui permette d’identifier la méthode de mise au carreau. Deux modèles sur panneau faits par Rubens pour des tapisseries (La vie d’Achille, maintenant au Courtauld) présentent une suite d’encoches équidistantes taillées sur les quatre côtés afin de fixer des fils treillissés. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, pareille solution aurait été évidente et pourrait avoir été utilisée – avec les modifications imposées par le support. Ensuite, le carton dessiné aurait été colorié. Jordaens privilégiait l’aquarelle et la gouache. À ce stade, des changements ou corrections étaient possibles4. Sur la toile d’Ottawa, le cavalier est un homme jeune, peut-être adolescent, alors que la tapisserie montre un homme différent, plus âgé. Comme la tête provient d’une autre œuvre de Jordaens, aussi sur l’art équestre, nous pouvons supposer une relation étroite avec l’artiste dans ce cas particulier – même si le changement affecte la narration : les figures à l’arrière-plan ne peuvent plus être les parents du cavalier5.

À l’étape suivante, le carton aurait été remis aux marchands tapissiers qui l’avaient commandé. Les tapisseries sont tissées sur un métier tendu de fils tous disposés dans le même sens. On place le carton sous les fils. Le lissier suit les motifs du carton en utilisant des fils de couleur pour former l’image. Il les noue à ce qui deviendra l’envers de la tapisserie, de sorte que, à la fin, l’image du carton sera inversée. En raison des dimensions des métiers, les tapisseries sont tissées en sections, et un carton peut être coupé, roulé ou plié en conséquence. Vu le risque d’endommager un carton – élément important du stock du marchand tapissier –, on utilise parfois un carton de rechange, fait d’après le premier. Dans le cas qui nous occupe, la concordance entre le modello peint et l’unique tapisserie qui subsiste est étroite mais imparfaite. Il semble y avoir de légères différences (peut-être accidentelles) dans les proportions et la position des figures et des groupes. Toutefois, en comparant un autre modèle peint de la même série avec la tapisserie correspondante, on constate que le cheval et le cavalier ne sont pas de même échelle6. Soit Jordaens avait fait le premier carton à une échelle différente, soit un carton intermédiaire a été utilisé en cours de travail. Dans cette même tapisserie, l’image est rognée et un bâtiment manque. De même, l’esclave, le perroquet et les chiens ne figurent pas dans la tapisserie tissée d’après le modello peint d’Ottawa (ill. 1).

Bien sûr, la confection de tapisseries supposait une collaboration entre concepteurs et fabricants, mais il était possible que le tissage même ne commence pas avant qu’on ait trouvé un acheteur. Au sujet des Grands chevaux, la documentation suggère que les cartons ont été commandés à Jordaens avant qu’il y ait un acheteur, mais que le tissage du cycle de Vienne a commencé après7.

La tapisserie étant un art d’interprétation, le modèle exige nécessairement d’être adapté. Il faut choisir les couleurs, la grosseur du tissage, quels détails du carton reproduire ou non, décider si et comment on rogne, retouche ou simplifie. Les marchands aussi pouvaient procéder à d’importantes révisions des cartons. Dans le cas des Grands chevaux, ils ont commandé à Jordaens de nouvelles compositions sur l’art équestre, mais ils ont aussi adapté – sans doute avec son aide – une série de cartons antérieurs qui copiaient les illustrations du Maneige royal de Pluvinel connues sous le nom de Petits chevaux. En tissant un cycle de tapisseries, les tapissiers ont choisi à partir des deux séries de cartons; ils ont aussi créé des hybrides en puisant dans les motifs des deux séries8.

Jordaens était tout à fait conscient de l’impératif commercial auquel était soumise la production tapissière et devait savoir que ses modèles pouvaient être transformés. Fait intéressant, dans la toile d’Ottawa, la composition est conçue de telle manière que, si elle devait être rognée, le choix serait évident. Si on élimine la figure de l’esclave, l’image reste équilibrée, et la masse centrale se déplace du cheval à la tête du cavalier. C’est là que le regard se porte, d’autant plus que les diagonales de l’architecture le dirigent vers ce point. D’autres images de la série montrent des stratégies similaires. Sans nul doute, elles révèlent la subtile compréhension que Jordaens avait de l’art de la tapisserie : il créait des modèles modifiables et suggérait peut-être même ces changements par des artifices de composition. Quoi qu’il en soit, les tissages subsistants révèlent comment les tapissiers ont interprété les modèles décoratifs de Jordaens, où l’élimination d’une partie ne bouleversait pas l’ensemble.

Jusqu’ici, nous avons considéré la toile d’Ottawa comme un modello pour la production d’une tapisserie et, en fait, elle a pu être exécutée à titre de morceau de présentation pour les commanditaires. Il n’existe pas de modèle peint pour toutes les tapisseries du même cycle, et Jordaens n’était assurément pas tenu d’en produire. Les cartons pouvaient être faits à partir de dessins détaillés, ce qui aurait été moins long que de peindre un modèle à l’huile. De toute évidence, la toile d’Ottawa était destinée à avoir une vie propre après avoir servi de modèle. D’autres toiles exécutées pour le même cycle ont d’autres dimensions, et l’une d’entre elles est un morceau d’atelier9. La seule conclusion possible est que les toiles n’ont jamais été destinées à être vendues ensemble par la suite. En fin de compte, Jeune cavalier en levade est une œuvre indépendante.

Peinte avec sensibilité, la toile d’Ottawa est en même temps précise et maîtrisée. Elle présente peu d’ajustements et de repentirs, et elle a dû être planifiée avec soin. Jordaens a sûrement fait des études préparatoires détaillées, comme à son habitude. Le dessin sous-jacent est net lui aussi, et la peinture y correspond étroitement. Il n’y a que dans le groupe de l’esclave et des chiens que le dessin sous-jacent montre une plus grande liberté : le trait est plus souple, les contours bougent car ils ont été dessinés à main levée. (On le voit à l’œil nu sur le chien à gauche, à travers la mince couche de peinture.) Notons que cette partie, que Jordaens ne pouvait pas avoir planifiée autant à l’étape préliminaire, ne se trouve pas dans la tapisserie. Ce groupe a peut-être été considéré comme une enjolivure étrangère au thème central et placé là à la fois pour faire pendant à Mars et Mercure et pour encadrer le jeune cavalier. En travaillant à équilibrer la composition, Jordaens a dévié une seule fois du dessin sous-jacent : il a agrandi le chapeau du jeune cavalier de façon qu’il attire davantage le regard. Ce genre de modification peut aisément résulter du développement d’idées travaillées dans de plus petits dessins.

L’emploi par Jordaens d’un mélange d’outremer pour le ciel et la robe de Mercure, ainsi que dans la peinture originale de l’armure de Mars – dépense superflue pour un modello – prouve qu’il concevait ce tableau comme une œuvre indépendante. Qui plus est, après avoir terminé le carton, il a repris la toile en insérant une statue dorée de Neptune par-dessus une colonne entièrement peinte du portique, comme on le voit sur la tapisserie. La couleur de l’armure de Mars, d’abord un bleu vif, a été tempérée par un glacis d’un vert plus sourd, probablement à cause de la proximité de la nouvelle statue, qui est d’un jaune de plomb et d’étain. En outre, Jordaens a enrichi la toile : Neptune, qui figure dans une autre scène du cycle, est le créateur du cheval, et cette autre référence mythologique rend la peinture plus complexe et plus intellectuellement satisfaisante.

Histoire matérielle et commentaires techniques

Quand le tableau a été acheté aux enchères en 1965, il était monté sur un châssis à clés du xixe siècle et entoilé avec de la colle en pâte faite à la même époque. Stephen Rees Jones, qui avait examiné l’œuvre avant l’encan, signalait qu’elle avait été restaurée et semblait en bon état. Une note au dossier de conservation suggère qu’elle a été nettoyée pour l’exposition de 1956 à Bruges. Depuis, elle n’a fait l’objet d’aucune intervention.

L’histoire de l’encadrement est intéressante. Au moment de l’achat, la toile avait un simple cadre anglais du début du xixe siècle avec décor moulé à la presse. Cela correspondait à la date de son achat par lord Northwick, mais en fait, ce cadre avait été coupé dans un plus grand. Quand le Musée a acheté l’œuvre en 1965, il l’a placée dans un cadre fabriqué au xixe siècle mais imité d’un cadre du xviie. Puis il s’est ravisé et, en 1984, l’a insérée dans un cadre hollandais de type Lutma de 1665 environ, abondamment modifié.

Historique

Christian Johannes Nieuwenhuys (1799–1883); sa vente, Christie’s, Londres, 10 mai 1833 et jours suivants (ce lot 10 mai), lot no 31, Jordaens, « An Allegorical Subject » [Sujet allégorique], décrit comme représentant le prince Frédéric-Henri de Nassau à cheval; acheté 10.10 £ par Dunford pour John Rushout, 2e baron de Northwick (1769–1859); par héritage à Edward George Spencer-Churchill (1876–1964); sa vente, Christie’s, Londres, 28 mai 1965, lot no 45, Jordaens, « An Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince » [Allégorie de l’éducation d’un jeune prince]; acheté 65 000 guinées par le Musée par l’entremise d’Agnew, Londres.

Expositions

  • 1938 Londres, Royal Academy, Seventeenth-Century Art in Europe, no 84, « Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince » [Allégorie de l’éducation d’un jeune prince]
  • 1953–1954 Londres, Royal Academy, Flemish Art 1300-1700, no 363, « Allegory of the Education of a Young Prince of Orange » [Allégorie de l’éducation d’un jeune prince d’Orange]
  • 1956 Bruges, Musée Groeninge, L’art flamand dans les collections britanniques et la Galerie nationale de Victoria, no 79, « La leçon d’équitation avec Mars et Mercure », v. 1645–1650
  • 1967 Londres, Christie’s, Bi-Centenary Exhibition, no 21, « The Education of a Prince » [L’éducation d’un prince]
  • 1968–1969 Ottawa, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, Jacob Jordaens, no 88, «Jeune cavalier exécutant une passade en présence de Mercure et de Mars », v. 1645
  • 1980 Indianapolis, Indianapolis Museum of Art (prêté)
  • 1993 Anvers, Musée royal des beaux-arts, Jacob Jordaens (1593–1678), no A74, « Levade exécutée sous les auspices de Mars et en présence de Mercure », v. 1645
  • 1998–1999 Mexico, Museo Nacional de San Carlos et Ferrare, Palazzo dei Diamanti, Rubens e il suo secolo, no 42, v. 1645
  • 2006–2007 Edmonton, Art Gallery of Alberta; Victoria, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria; et Winnipeg, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Chefs-d’œuvre du baroque du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, p. 20–21.

Mentions bibliographiques

  • Rooses 1908 (p. 184) décrit les tapisseries de Vienne.
  • Held 1949, sur l’iconographie.
  • McNairn dans Laskin et Pantazzi 1987, p.158–159, v. 1645.
  • Liedtke dans Bauman et Liedtke 1992, p. 226­–228, no 70, v. 1645.
  • Nelson 1998, p. 37–42, 128–129, no 40a, v. 1645.
  • Hefford 2003, datation provisoire v. 1633.

1 Nelson 1998 est la référence essentielle. Hefford 2003 offre une autre réinterprétation marquante de ce corpus et date les peintures du début des années 1630.

2 Held (1949) soutient qu’il y a symbolisme astrologique, les dieux/planètes Mars et Mercure étant associés à différents tempéraments équins. Nelson (1998, p. 41), à partir de documents de l’époque sur l’équitation, voit les références comme plus générales, « courtoises » et aisément intelligibles; ainsi, Mars représente le courage.

3 Nelson (1998, p. 40–41) analyse la série de Vienne et note que trois de ses éléments – de plus petites tapisseries montrant, sur fond de paysage, le cheval et le cavalier en compagnie de Mars – proviennent effectivement, avec quelques modifications, de ce que l’on appelle Les petits chevaux, un cycle de tapisseries très inspiré des illustrations du Maneige royal de Pluvinel. Dans l’hypothèse où Jordaens aurait pris une part active à la création de ces tapisseries, il n’aurait pas eu à faire de modèles peints pour celles-là. Voir aussi Nelson 1985–1986 pour un exposé sur les manières dont Jordaens envisageait la conception de tapisseries.

4 Nelson (1985–1986, p. 221) présente un cas où Jordaens a fait des modifications à l’étape du carton : il a réintroduit un motif présent dans le premier dessin préparatoire.

5 A Cavalier on a Horse Executing the Levade [Cavalier à cheval exécutant une levade], Springfield Museum of Fine Arts. Voir Nelson 1998, p. 131–132, au sujet de cette relation.

6 Levade exécutée sous les auspices de Mars et en présence de Mercure, de Vénus et d’un maître d’équitation, Anvers, Musée royal des beaux-arts.

7 On ignore qui a commandé le cycle de Vienne, acheté en 1666 par l’entremise d’un marchand viennois à l’occasion du mariage de l’empereur Léopold 1er. Étant donné le prix du fil d’or et d’argent utilisé pour ces tapisseries, il est peu probable que les lissiers les aient fabriquées avant qu’il y ait un acheteur.

8Nelson 1989 (p. 21) note que, en raison de cette pratique, chaque série de tapisseries sur l’art équestre est différente. Hefford (2003), tout en étant d’accord sur le rôle des marchands tapissiers dans ce processus, avance une tout autre  interprétation des œuvres subsistantes.

9 L’œuvre intitulée Levade exécutée sous les auspices de Mars et en présence de Mercure, de Vénus et d’un maître d’équitation, mentionnée dans la note 6.

ill. 1

D’après Jacob Jordaens,
La Levade, v. 1650–1660, tapisserie, 410 × 508 cm. Kunsthistorisches Museum, Vienne.