Peter Paul Rubens

Peter Paul Rubens
The Entombment  c. 1612–14
Oil on oak. 87.1 × 63.8 cm
Purchased 1956, no. 6431

Like many artists from the Netherlands, Rubens left for Italy after finishing his early training. His years there (1600–08) had a profound effect on the young, ambitious painter, now able to experience the art of Antiquity and the Renaissance first hand. In 1606 he was chosen to paint the high altarpiece of the Chiesa Nuova in Rome, a remarkably prestigious commission for a foreign artist. Caravaggio had earlier painted his monumental Entombment for the same church in 1602–031 ( illus. 1). It stood in a side chapel, and Rubens would have had ample opportunity to study it. Historically, it was unclear if Rubens painted this work in Rome, or, as first suggested in the later nineteenth century, he painted it later, after his return to Antwerp. Considering the materials and techniques, it seems improbable Rubens made it in Rome: The Entombment is painted on an expensive oak panel, commonly used in the North and unlikely to have been available in Italy. Technique and style are also more typical of Rubens’ work in Flanders: in Italy, he adopted local materials and emulated local techniques, with a very different result from the luminosity of this painting. It is now recognized as having been painted after Rubens’ return in late 1608 to Antwerp. Scholars tend to date it to c. 1612–14, making it a less immediate response to Caravaggio’s work.

Rubens has changed key elements of the composition, including details of dress, physiognomy, colour and setting. However, in many respects the artist follows his model closely, allowing us to infer something of the study he drew upon: it must have captured tonal values and volume in addition to accurately copying the composition. A chalk drawing on coloured paper, perhaps with wash, could have been used.

While the painting deviates from its model, it may, at the start, have been intended as a more faithful rendering. Caravaggio’s monumental canvas is proportionately taller than Rubens’ panel. In relation to the width of the painting, Rubens’ Christ is smaller than its model and is placed relatively lower on the panel – likely a deliberate modification that would have allowed space for the outstretched arms of Mary Cleophas above the group. Under infrared reflectography, little of the underdrawing can be detected, and none is visible within the figures of Christ and Nicodemus, who supports his legs. Yet the accurate copying of the model would have required some guide; it is likely that the underdrawing for these central figures was minimal, executed precisely and followed faithfully in the painting, and therefore masked by the overlying paint. While Rubens made slight modifications – for instance, he removed Nicodemus’ ungainly hunched back – he closely follows the model. In the other figures, where Rubens deviates more radically from Caravaggio’s model, the underdrawing is visible in areas where the upper paint layers do not precisely follow it, or where he was faced with a particular difficulty – for instance, the Madonna’s interlaced fingers. In these areas, the underdrawing appears to have been made in a fine, dry point. The figure of John, who supports Christ’s upper body, seems to have been critical in the painting’s evolution – the point at which Rubens decided to adapt the composition. Coarser charcoal strokes and some arcs of wash indicate two attempts to place him before Rubens arrived at the final solution. The decision to shift John to the outer edge of the painting led to other changes that further distanced the work from its model. In the space that opened between John and Nicodemus, Rubens placed Mary Cleophas supporting the Madonna. While he was painting, Rubens added John’s proper right leg over the underpainting of the rock slab – an element necessitated by John’s precarious position, and by the need to balance the figural composition. He had not seen the need for this element at the underdrawing stage, and it was only when establishing the relative volumes in the underpaint that it became necessary. As a corresponding counterweight on the far right, Rubens adds the figure of Joseph of Armithea – the owner of the tomb. This figure is painted with no preparatory drawing, directly wet-in-wet into the dark paint of the shadows, and we can presume he was the last added.2

Rubens’ response to Caravaggio’s painting has been much discussed by scholars attuned to the implications of the changes in the context of contemporary debates over religious art, as well as the artists’ differing aesthetics. Caravaggio had conceived his figures as individuals lost in grief. In contrast, Rubens creates a more psychologically coherent group, absorbed in their shared task. His Mary Cleophas holds the Madonna – a more intimate, human interaction. His composition is more dynamic, less planar and less artificial than Caravaggio’s with its overpowering, static theatricality. The differences may be driven by Rubens’ response to Caravaggio’s confrontational approach to gesture and characterization – staged and histrionic, the figures’ expressions of emotion overt. Caravaggio’s Nicodemus, his head turned towards the viewer, creates a troubling link between us and the painting. Rubens’ Nicodemus, together with John, act as if unobserved; the effect is more natural, more human. It appears that in the process of making the copy, Ruben’s focus came to lie in re-imagining the scene and clarifying the story. He gives the group an emotional unity and sets it into motion as John steps one level closer to the void at the bottom of the picture.

Rubens painted copies of other artists’ work – invariably from the previous century – for his personal pleasure and inspiration. These copies are, however, generally more faithful, the transformations more subtle.3 The result here does not fit easily into this or any other category: it is more than a simple copy, yet too closely tied to its model to be considered a truly independent work.4 As such, Rubens’ intention in painting it, and the painting’s consequent function, has puzzled scholars. As argued here, it started as a faithful copy, which Rubens made his own only through the course of painting it; the distance of years and separation from the original object permitted him to see other possibilities within the composition. The essence of these changes is explored further in the Courtauld Entombment (c. 1615–16), where Caravaggio’s influence is all but exorcized (illus. 2). In this painting, there is even more emphasis on movement, on the emotional unity amongst the figures, and on the unfolding drama of the event.

Re-imagining one of Caravaggio’s most famous works seems a personally motivated endeavour, as it is difficult to imagine Rubens making it for anyone other than himself. It is freely painted and sketch-like in places. Yet it was certainly not a casual undertaking: the choice of panel – well-constructed and expensive – and the evident care taken make this clear. Given that the work is unusual in its conception, it is quite possible that it remained with the artist; it has been at times identified with a Dead Christ in his studio sale of 1640. However, there are convincing grounds to reject this. Its seventeenth-century provenance, which might shed light on its destination and so its function, remains unclear.


Physical History and Technical Notes

There are few Rubens panels that have not been compromised by structural intervention, and it is worth providing some detail here: the panel is in excellent condition and has suffered no subtractive or stressful treatment. It comprises two members of high quality oak, of purely radial cut, the grain running vertically. The simple butt join is roughly at centre of the panel, 31.4 cm in from the left edge, and there are two dowels, both set around 18 cm from the top and bottom edges of the panel. After joinery, the front and back were worked, leaving the panel with an average thickness of 7 mm, with a slight chamfer on all verso edges to facilitate framing.

Aside from the quality of the panel, its preservation is undoubtedly due to its collecting history: it was with the Liechtenstein by 1733 at the latest through to its purchase by the Gallery in 1956. Escaping the sale room was beneficial.

It was cleaned and re-varnished in London in spring of 1956, arranged by the agent. Shortly after its arrival in Canada in June, it was exposed deliberately to slightly elevated humidity, then the panel back was coated with a wax-resin mixture and sealed in a micro-climate box where it remained through 2011. It is currently exhibited in a sealed framing unit. No subtractive treatment has been carried out on the surface.

Marks and Inscriptions

Recto, lower left corner: Liechtenstein seal (black wax); the inscription “i7” (in white paint), now overpainted.

Verso: an unidentified seal (red wax); Liechtenstein seal (red wax); the inscription “64” (in black paint) repeated 3 times.

The Liechtenstein seals were applied in 1733. The last collection inventory number assigned was 64; the inscription “i7” is undoubtedly an earlier, unrecorded inventory number from the same collection. (Compare the inscription “19” on Rubens’ Agrippina and Germanicus, National Gallery of Art, Washington, acc. no. 1963.8.1, also ex-Liechtenstein.)

Provenance

Unknown collection. The Princes of Liechtenstein, Vienna by 1733; by descent; bought C$150,000 by the Gallery through Agnew, London, 1956.

Notes

Sometimes identified with item no. 36 in Rubens’ 1640 studio sale, “Notre Seigneur mort, copie après Coregio,” in a contemporary translation “A Christ in short; a Coppie after Caronagio,” assuming this to be a corruption of Caravaggio. Muller 1989, p. 102 refutes this.

Its history prior to its purchase by the Liechtenstein is unknown: the unidentified seal of a previous owner shows a heart in flames. It may be institutional (religious) rather than personal ( illus. 3). The seal does not seem to be from any Antwerp institution; our thanks to Bert Watteeuw of the Rubenianum.

Sometimes identified with a work by Rubens sold by the Forchondt, a family of dealers in Antwerp, in March 1710 to Prince Johann Adam Andreas I (1657–1712) for 2,500 German Gulden. Neither the Liechtenstein accounts nor the Forchondt correspondence mention the subject of the painting (Denucé 1931, p. 270 for the correspondence and private communication from Dr. Arthur Stögmann, Archivist of the Liechtenstein Princely Collections). The price seems high for a small work like The Entombment and should be compared with other Liechtenstein purchases such as, for example, the 2,733.30 Reichstaler paid in 1702 for Rubens’ Massacre of the Innocents, his Pandora’s Box (not listed in the Liechtenstein catalogues under this title, likely the Discovery of Erichthonius) and a work by Teniers, all bought from the Forchondt; see the entry to the Massacre of the Innocents in Sotheby’s, London, 10 July 2002, lot no. 6. (2,550 Gulden = 1,662.5 Reichstaler, assuming 1.5 Gulden to the Taler, see http://pierre-marteau.com/wiki/index.php?title=Holy_Roman_Empire:Money.) Baumstark in New York 1985, p. 318, argues that the 1710 payment refers instead to a large Lamentation by Rubens still in the Liechtenstein collection.

Reproduced

I – Schneevoogt 1873, p. 54, no. 387 in his catalogue of prints after Rubens, gives this to Pieter Soutman (c. 1580–1657), misled by a later state of the engraving with this attribution. Rather, it was engraved by Jonas Suyderhoef (c. 1613–1686). See Hollstein vol. xxviii, Suyderhoef, no. 1. Notably, the inscription credits Caravaggio (“Caravaggio pinxit”), not Rubens, who goes unmentioned. The print is a free and crude interpretation of its model. Suyderhoef’s source is unclear, but, assuming the work remained with Rubens, may have been Soutman, for whom Suyderhoef worked; Soutman in turn would have had access to the painting, having been with Rubens in the 1610s (Antwerp & Amsterdam 1999–2000, pp. 383–384).

II – Schneevoogt 1873, p. 54, no. 388 by Johann Peter Pichler (1765–1807).

Moir 1976, p. 128, note 202 citing seventeenth-century prints after Rubens’ work contains a series of inaccuracies and some misidentifications.

Exhibition History

  • 1948 Lucerne, Kunstmuseum, Meisterwerke aus den Sammlungen des Fürsten von Liechtenstein no. 115, painted during or shortly after Rubens’ time in Italy
  • 1951–55 London, National Gallery (on loan)
  • 1977 Antwerp, Koninklijk Museum voor Schone Kunsten, P.P. Rubens, no. 32, c. 1613–15
  • 1978 Hamilton (Ontario), Christ’s Church Cathedral & Art Gallery of Hamilton (on loan)
  • 1986–67 Ottawa, National Gallery of Canada; Vancouver, Vancouver Art Gallery; Toronto, Art Gallery of Ontario; & Montreal, Montreal Museum of Fine Arts, Vatican Splendor: Masterpieces of Baroque Art, no. 3
  • 2005 London, National Gallery, Rubens, a Master in the Making no. 57, c. 1612–14
  • 2006–07 Edmonton, Art Gallery of Alberta, Victoria, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria, & Winnipeg, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Baroque Masterworks from the National Gallery of Canada, p. 7
  • 2008–09 Toronto, Art Gallery of Ontario (on loan)
  • 2011–12 Ottawa, National Gallery of Canada and Fort Worth, Kimbell Art Museum, Caravaggio and His Followers in Rome, no. 60

Selected References

  • Fanti 1767, no. 392, “Un Cristo, che vien posto nel sepolcro da Nicodemo, e da San Giovanni …,” a sketch (schizzo).
  • Dallinger and Lucchini 1780, p. 189, no. 604, Jesus-Christ mis au tombeau. Nicodème accompagné d’un autre disciple est dans l’attitude de porter le corps de Jesus-Christ au tombeau. Ils sont suivis de St. Jean, et des trois Maries …, [“Christ is laid into the tomb. Nicodemus together with another disciple are positioned to carry Christ’s body into the tomb. They are followed by St. John and the three Marys …”], a sketch (esquisse); said to be (dit-on) painted in Rome.
  • Smith 1829–1837, pt. 2, p. 104, no. 339, “Joseph of Arimathea and St. John bearing the body of the Saviour to the tomb, attended by the three Maries. A finished study”; Smith makes no reference to Caravaggio’s model.
  • Waagen 1866, p. 268, confirming the importance of Caravaggio to Rubens’ development; by implication, painted after his time in Italy.
  • Rooses 1886–92, vol. 2, pp. 136–137, no. 323, likely painted in Rome.
  • Bode 1888, pp. 32–33, 1613–15.
  • Rosenberg 1911, p. 29, c. 1604–06.
  • Oldenbourg 1921, p. 81, c. 1613–16.
  • Graeve 1958 on the iconography of Caravaggio’s work and the relationship of the two paintings.
  • Jaffé 1977, pp. 57–58, c. 1612, identifying it with the entry in the 1640 studio sale discussed above.
  • Held 1980, pp. 499–500, discusses the Ottawa picture in the context of the Courtauld Entombment; painted “soon after his return” from Italy, i.e. c. 1609.
  • McNairn in Laskin and Pantazzi 1987, pp. 259–261, c. 1612–14.
  • Jaffé 1989, no. 175, c. 1611–12.
  • Judson 2000, pp. 243–245, no. 75, c. 1614.


1 Schütze 2009, no. 34 for a concise introduction to Caravaggio’s painting.

2 The names given here are a convenience. The older man supporting Christ’s body in Caravaggio’s canvas is usually identified as Nicodemus. Rubens may instead have intended this figure as Joseph of Arimethea, and Nicodemus as the man to the right; see Held 1980, vol. 1, p. 500, arguing from occurrences of similar figures in Rubens’ work. Both men had roles to play in Christ’s burial, but neither is so strongly characterized here as to be securely identifiable. These identifications depend upon the viewer’s sensitivity to iconographic traditions, and are more important for providing context – things done or to be done by the men.

3 Both making close copies, as well as emulation – taking inspiration from another artist’s work – were fundamental principles of contemporary art, seen as means by which artists could master and then, ideally, surpass their models. Rubens’ relationship to the art of the past has been studied extensively, the essential material is published by J. Wood in the Corpus Rubenianum. On Rubens’ art collection see Muller 1989.

4 At least to an informed viewer. Note that Caravaggio’s altarpiece, while known through published accounts, seems to have been reproduced in print only once in the seventeenth century (Moir 1976, under no. 25, as by Baburen; the attribution is unclear). Aside from artists and travellers to Rome, few at the time may have recognized the allusion, yet it is interesting to note that the only contemporary print after the Ottawa panel gives the invention to the Italian painter, ignoring Rubens (see below). We lack evidence for viewers’ responses to Rubens’ panel; note that the first references that definitively link the names of Rubens and Caravaggio date only to the nineteenth century – an accident due to the nature of our sources.

illus. 1

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, The Entombment, c. 1602–04, oil on canvas, 300 × 203 cm. Pinacoteca Vaticana, Vatican Museums, Vatican State. Photo: Scala / Art Resource, NY

illus. 2

Peter Paul Rubens, The Entombment, c. 1615–16, oil on panel, 83.1 × 65.1 cm. © Samuel Courtauld Trust, The Courtauld Gallery, London. Photo: The Bridgeman Art Library

illus. 3

Wax seal, verso of panel. Photo: NGC

Pierre Paul Rubens

Pierre Paul Rubens
La mise au tombeau v. 1612–1614
Huile sur chêne, 87,1 × 63,8 cm
Acheté en 1956, no 6431

Comme bien des artistes des Pays-Bas, Rubens part pour l’Italie après ses premières années d’apprentissage. Jeune et ambitieux, il est profondément marqué par son séjour là-bas (1600–1608), car il peut y voir de ses yeux l’art de l’Antiquité et de la Renaissance. En 1606, il est choisi pour peindre le tableau du maître-autel de la Chiesa Nuova à Rome, une commande remarquablement prestigieuse pour un artiste étranger. Quelques années plus tôt, en 1602–16031, Caravage avait peint sa monumentale Mise au tombeau (ill. 1) pour la même église. Comme l’œuvre se trouvait dans une chapelle latérale, Rubens a certainement eu maintes occasions de l’étudier. Les spécialistes se sont longtemps demandé si Rubens avait peint sa Mise au tombeau à Rome ou, tel que suggéré dès la fin du xixe siècle, après son retour à Anvers. Compte tenu des matériaux et de la technique, il semble improbable qu’il l’ait peinte à Rome : La mise au tombeau est peinte sur panneau de chêne, matériau noble et coûteux couramment utilisé dans le Nord mais à peu près impossible à se procurer en Italie. De plus, la technique et le style sont plus typiques du travail de Rubens en Flandre : en Italie, Rubens adoptait des matériaux et des techniques locales qui apportaient à ses peintures un effet fort différent. Il est maintenant établi que Rubens l’a peinte après son retour à Anvers à la fin de 1608. Les spécialistes la situent généralement vers 1612–1614, ce qui en fait une « réponse » moins immédiate à l’œuvre de Caravage.

Rubens a changé des éléments importants de la Mise au tombeau de Caravage, notamment dans les détails des costumes, les physionomies, les couleurs et le décor. Toutefois, à bien des égards, plusieurs aspects du modèle ont été conservés, ce qui nous permet de déduire que, dans l’étude qu’il en a faite, il a dû reproduire les valeurs tonales et les volumes, en plus d’en copier scrupuleusement la composition. Ce dessin aurait probablement été réalisé à la craie sur papier de couleur, rehaussé peut-être de lavis.

Si l’intention de départ de Rubens était de réaliser une réplique du tableau de Caravage, l’artiste s’est écarté sensiblement de son modèle dans son œuvre achevée. La toile monumentale de Caravage est proportionnellement plus haute que le panneau de Rubens. Par rapport à la largeur de la peinture, le Christ de Rubens est plus petit que celui de Caravage, et il est placé un peu plus bas – probablement un choix délibéré de Rubens afin de réserver l’espace nécessaire pour peindre les bras tendus de Marie de Cléophas au-dessus du groupe. La réflectographie infrarouge ne révèle à peu près rien du dessin sous-jacent, et aucun dessin de fond n’est visible dans le personnage du Christ ou dans celui de Nicodème, qui lui soutient les jambes. Cependant, pour copier le modèle avec précision, Rubens aurait eu besoin de points de repère; en premier lieu, il a probablement dessiné les grandes lignes de ses personnages centraux, puis a peint exactement par-dessus ces lignes, de sorte que le dessin sous-jacent a été masqué par la couche pigmentaire. Malgré de légères modifications – par exemple, il a enlevé la disgracieuse bosse sur le dos de Nicodème –, Rubens s’en est tenu au modèle pour ces deux personnages. Dans les autres personnages où il s’éloigne plus radicalement de la Mise au tombeau de Caravage, le dessin sous-jacent est visible là où les couches supérieures de peinture ne suivent pas précisément le modèle et là où il a éprouvé une difficulté particulière – les doigts entrelacés de la Madone, par exemple. Dans ces parties du tableau, le fin tracé du dessin sous-jacent suggère l’utilisation à sec d’une matière tendre taillée en pointe. Tout semble indiquer que le personnage de Jean, qui soutient le torse du Christ, aurait joué un rôle crucial dans l’évolution de la peinture : c’est en le peignant que Rubens aurait décidé d’adapter la composition. Des traits épais de fusain et quelques courbes de lavis indiquent qu’il a fait deux essais avant d’arriver à sa solution finale. La décision de placer Jean sur le bord du panneau l’a amené à faire d’autres changements. Dans l’espace ouvert entre Jean et Nicodème, Rubens a placé Marie de Cléophas soutenant la Madone. De plus, il a ajouté la jambe droite de Jean en surpeint sur la dalle de pierre – à la fois pour stabiliser ce personnage et pour équilibrer l’ensemble du groupe. Cet élément ne lui avait pas paru essentiel à l’étape du dessin sous-jacent, et ce n’est qu’en établissant les volumes comparatifs lorsqu’il a peint la couche de dessous qu’il en a vu la nécessité. Pour faire contrepoids, il a ajouté à l’extrême droite Joseph d’Arimathie, le propriétaire du tombeau2. Nous pouvons présumer que ce personnage fut le dernier ajout à la composition car il a été peint sans dessin préparatoire, sa forme apposée directement sur la peinture fraîche qui a servi à créer des ombres.

La « réponse » de Rubens à la peinture de Caravage a été longuement discutée par des spécialistes bien au fait des débats de l’époque sur la signification des changements dans l’iconographie religieuse, ainsi que de l’esthétique propre à chaque artiste. Caravage avait conçu ses personnages comme des individus accablés de douleur. Rubens, lui, crée un groupe psychologiquement plus cohérent, absorbé dans une tâche commune. Sa Marie de Cléophas soutient la Madone, ce qui témoigne d’une relation plus intime, plus humaine. Sa composition est plus dynamique, moins aplanie et moins artificielle que celle de Caravage, qui est d’une écrasante et statique théâtralité. Ces différences s’expliquent peut-être par la réaction de Rubens devant la façon dont Caravage interpelle le spectateur par les gestes et la caractérisation de ses personnages – des acteurs exprimant sans retenue leurs émotions. Tête tournée vers le spectateur, le Nicodème de Caravage crée un lien troublant entre la peinture et nous. Chez Rubens, Nicodème et Jean agissent comme si on ne les observait pas; l’effet est plus naturel, plus humain. On dirait qu’en peignant sa copie, Rubens a imaginé de nouveau la scène et à faire la lumière sur le récit. Il confère au groupe une unité émotive et le dynamise en rapprochant Jean du vide dans la partie inférieure du panneau.

Rubens a peint des copies d’œuvres d’autres artistes – toujours du siècle précédent – par plaisir et pour y trouver de l’inspiration. Toutefois, ces copies sont généralement conformes aux originaux, les transformations y sont plus subtiles3. Sa Mise au tombeau se classe difficilement dans quelque catégorie que ce soit : elle est plus qu’une simple copie, mais elle reste quand même trop proche de l’original pour être considérée comme une œuvre indépendante4. C’est pourquoi les spécialistes se sont tant demandé dans quelle intention Rubens l’avait peinte et quelle fonction elle a remplie par la suite. Pour notre part, nous croyons que Rubens l’a commencée en voulant en faire une réplique fidèle et qu’il ne s’en est approprié le sujet qu’en cours d’exécution; la distance et les années qui le séparaient de l’original lui permettaient de voir, dans la composition, d’autres possibilités. Il a poursuivi son exploration dans La mise au tombeau, aujourd’hui au Courtauld (v. 1615–1616), où l’influence de Caravage est pratiquement exorcisée (ill. 2). Dans la peinture du Courtauld, Rubens insiste encore plus sur le mouvement, sur l’unité émotive des personnages et sur le caractère tragique de l’événement.

Réinterpréter l’une des œuvres les plus célèbres de Caravage semble avoir été, pour Rubens, un projet personnel, car il est difficile d’imaginer qu’il l’a fait pour qui que ce soit d’autre que lui-même. Sa Mise au tombeau est librement peinte, certaines parties de l’œuvre ressemblant davantage à une esquisse. Néanmoins, Rubens ne l’a certainement pas entreprise à la légère : le choix du panneau – bien construit et coûteux – et le soin évident qu’il a mis dans ce travail le confirment. Ce genre de projet étant pour lui inhabituel, il est fort possible qu’il ait conservé ce panneau peint chez lui; on l’a parfois identifiée à un Christ mort qui se trouvait parmi les œuvres de son atelier mises en vente en 1640. Il existe toutefois des arguments convaincants pour réfuter cette hypothèse. Ce qui est advenu de La mise au tombeau au xviie siècle pourrait nous éclairer sur sa destination et, par conséquent, sur sa fonction.


Histoire matérielle et commentaires techniques

Rares sont les panneaux de Rubens qui n’ont pas subi une modification structurelle quelconque. Il est donc pertinent de fournir ici quelques détails : le panneau est en excellent état et n’a pas été soumis à un traitement soustractif ni de tension. Il est fait de deux morceaux de chêne de très bonne qualité, à fil vertical débité sur quartier. Le joint droit se trouve à peu près au centre, à 31,4 cm du bord gauche, et il y a deux goujons, tous deux à environ 18 cm des bords supérieur et inférieur. Une fois le panneau menuisé, le devant et le dos ont été planés à une épaisseur moyenne de 7 mm. Au dos, le pourtour a été légèrement taillé en biseau pour faciliter l’encadrement.

Le bon état de l’œuvre s’explique non seulement par la qualité du panneau, mais aussi par le fait qu’elle est restée dans la collection du Liechtenstein de 1733 (date la plus tardive) jusqu’à son achat par le Musée en 1956. Échapper aux salles de vente lui a été bénéfique.

L’œuvre a été nettoyée et revernie à Londres au printemps 1956, à la demande de l’agent du Musée. Peu après son arrivée au Canada en juin, elle a été délibérément exposée à une humidité légèrement élevée, puis le dos du panneau a été enduit d’un mélange de cire et de résine. L’œuvre a ensuite été scellée dans un cadre-boîtier microclimat, où elle est restée jusqu’en 2011. Elle est actuellement exposée dans un cadre hermétique. La surface du panneau n’a subi aucun traitement soustractif.

Marques et inscriptions

Recto, coin inférieur gauche : sceau du Liechtenstein (cire noire); inscription « i7 » (à la peinture blanche), maintenant surpeinte.

Verso : sceau non identifié (cire rouge); sceau du Liechtenstein (cire rouge); inscription « 64 » (à la peinture noire) répétée 3 fois.

Les sceaux du Liechtenstein ont été apposés en 1733. Le dernier numéro d’inventaire assigné à cette œuvre de la collection du Liechtenstein était le 64; l’inscription « i7 » est sans aucun doute un numéro d’inventaire antérieur qui n’a pas été recensé dans le registre de la même collection. (Comparer l’inscription « 19 » sur l’Agrippine et Germanicus de Rubens, National Gallery of Art, Washington, no d’acquisition 1963.8.1, provenant aussi de la collection du Liechtenstein.)

Historique

Collection inconnue. Les princes de Liechtenstein, Vienne, dès 1733; transmission héréditaire; acheté pour 150 000 $ CAD par le Musée par l’entremise d’Agnew, Londres, en 1956.

Notes

Parfois identifié au no 36 de la vente du contenu de l’atelier de Rubens en 1640, « Notre Seigneur mort, copie après Coregio », dans une traduction contemporaine, « A Christ in short; a Coppie after Caronagio », en supposant que ce nom est une déformation du nom Caravaggio. Réfuté dans Muller 1989, p. 102.

L’historique de ce panneau avant son acquisition par les princes de Liechtenstein est inconnue : le sceau non identifié d’un précédent propriétaire présente un cœur en flammes. Il pourrait s’agir d’une institution (religieuse) plutôt que d’un particulier (illus. 3). Le sceau ne semble pas être celui d’une institution d’Anvers; nous remercions Bert Watteeuw du Rubenianum pour ses recherches.

Parfois identifiée à une œuvre de Rubens vendue par les Forchondt, une famille de marchands d’Anvers, en mars 1710 au prince Johann Adam Andreas Ier (1657–1712) pour 2 500 florins allemands. Ni les livres de comptes du Liechtenstein ni la correspondance Forchondt ne mentionnent le sujet de la peinture. (Voir Denucé 1931, p. 270, pour la correspondance et la communication personnelle d’Arthur Stögmann, archiviste des collections princières du Liechtenstein). Le prix semble élevé pour une œuvre d’aussi petit format que La mise au tombeau et devrait être comparé aux autres prix payés par les princes de Liechtenstein comme, par exemple, les 2 733,30 thalers impériaux payés en 1702 pour le Massacre des Innocents de Rubens, sa Boîte de Pandore (non répertoriée sous ce titre dans les catalogues du Liechtenstein, vraisemblablement La découverte d’Erichthonius) et une œuvre de Téniers, toutes achetées aux Forchondt; voir la notice du Massacre des Innocents dans le catalogue de ventes de Sotheby’s, Londres, 10 juillet 2002, lot no 6. (2 550 florins = 1 662,5 thalers impériaux, en supposant 1,5 florin = 1 thaler, voir http://pierre-marteau.com/wiki/index.php?title=Holy_Roman_Empire:Money, où Gulden signifie florin, et Reichstaler signifie thaler impérial.) Baumstark, dans New York 1985 (p. 318), soutient que le paiement de 1710 portait plutôt sur une Lamentation de Rubens de plus grand format, encore aujourd’hui dans la collection du Liechtenstein.

Reproductions de l’œuvre

I - Schneevoogt 1873 (p. 54) attribue le numéro 387 de son catalogue des estampes d’après Rubens à Pieter Soutman (v. 1580–1657), induit en erreur par la gravure à une étape ultérieure qui portait cette attribution. Aurait plutôt été gravée par Jonas Suyderhoef (v. 1613–1686). Voir Hollstein vol. xxviii, Suyderhoef no 1. Fait à noter, l’inscription donne Caravage (« Caravaggio pinxit ») comme peintre, mais ne fait aucune mention de Rubens. L’estampe est une interprétation libre et rudimentaire de l’original. L’œuvre qui a servi de modèle n’est pas mentionnée, mais si on suppose que le panneau est resté chez Rubens, elle pourrait être attribuée à Soutman, qui aurait eu accès à la peinture en raison de ses liens avec Rubens dans les années 1610; Suyderhoef a travaillé pour Soutman quelques années plus tard (Anvers et Amsterdam 1999–2000, p. 383–384).

II - Schneevoogt 1873, p. 54, no 388, par Johann Peter Pichler(1765–1807).

Moir 1976 (p. 128, note 202), où sont mentionnées des estampes du xviie siècle d’après l’œuvre de Rubens, contient de nombreuses inexactitudes et quelques attributions erronées.

Expositions

  • 1948 Lucerne, Kunstmuseum, Meisterwerke aus den Sammlungen des Fürsten von Liechtenstein, no 115, peint pendant ou peu après le séjour de Rubens en Italie.
  • 1951–1955 Londres, National Gallery (prêt)
  • 1977 Anvers, Musée royal des beaux-arts, P.P. Rubens, no 32, v. 1613–1615
  • 1978 Hamilton (Ontario), cathédrale Christ’s Church et Art Gallery of Hamilton (prêt)
  • 1986–1987 Ottawa, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada; Vancouver, Vancouver Art Gallery; Toronto, Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario; et Montréal, Musée des beaux-arts de Montréal, Splendeurs du Vatican. Chefs-d’œuvre de l’art baroque, no 3
  • 2005 Londres, National Gallery, Rubens, a Master in the Making, no 57, v. 1612–1614
  • 2006–2007 Edmonton, Art Gallery of Alberta; Victoria, Art Gallery of Greater Victoria; et Winnipeg, Winnipeg Art Gallery, Chefs-d’œuvre du baroque du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada, p. 7
  • 2008–2009 Toronto, Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario (prêt)
  • 2011–2012 Ottawa, Musée des beaux-arts du Canada; et Fort Worth, Kimbell Art Museum, Caravaggio et les peintres caravagesques à Rome, no 60

Mentions bibliographiques de l’œuvre

  • Fanti 1767, no 392, « Un Cristo, che vien posto nel sepolcro da Nicodemo, e da San Giovanni … », esquisse (schizzo).
  • Dallinger et Lucchini 1780, p. 189, no 604, « Jésus-Christ mis au tombeau. Nicodème accompagné d’un autre disciple est dans l’attitude de porter le corps de Jésus-Christ au tombeau. Ils sont suivis de St. Jean, et des trois Maries …», esquisse; peinte, dit-on, à Rome.
  • Smith 1829–1837, partie 2, p. 104, no 339, « Joseph of Arimathea and St. John bearing the body of the Saviour to the tomb, attended by the three Maries. A finished study » [Joseph d’Arimathie et saint Jean portant le corps du Sauveur au tombeau, suivis des trois Maries. Une étude achevée]; Smith ne fait aucune mention de la toile de Caravage.
  • Waagen 1866, p. 268, confirme l’importance de Caravage dans l’évolution de Rubens; insinuant que l’œuvre fut peinte après son séjour en Italie.
  • Rooses 1886–1892, vol. 2, p. 136–137, no 323, vraisemblablement peint à Rome.
  • Bode 1888, p. 32–33, 1613–1615.
  • Rosenberg 1911, p. 29, v. 1604–1606.
  • Oldenbourg 1921, p. 81, v. 1613–1616.
  • Graeve 1958, sur l’iconographie de l’œuvre de Caravage et le rapport entre les deux peintures.
  • Jaffé 1977, p. 57–58, v. 1612, l’identifiant à une œuvre de la vente du contenu de l’atelier de Rubens tenue en 1640.
  • Held 1980, p. 499–500, discussion du panneau d’Ottawa dans le contexte de La mise au tombeau du Courtauld; peint « peu après son retour » d’Italie, soit v. 1609.
  • McNairn, dans Laskin et Pantazzi 1987, p. 272–274, v. 1612–1614.
  • Jaffé 1989, no 175, v. 1611–1612.
  • Judson 2000, p. 243–245, no 75, v. 1614.


[1] Voir Schütze 2009, no 34, pour une introduction concise à la peinture de Caravage.

[2] Les noms donnés ici sont une convention. Le vieillard soutenant le corps du Christ dans la toile de Caravage est habituellement considéré comme étant Nicodème. Il est possible que Rubens ait voulu que ce personnage soit Joseph d’Arimathie, et que Nicodème soit l’homme que l’on voit à droite; c'est ce que soutient Held (1980, vol. 1, p. 500), en se basant sur des personnages semblables dans d’autres œuvres de Rubens. Les deux hommes ont joué un rôle dans la mise au tombeau du Christ, mais aucun n’est suffisamment caractérisé ici pour être identifié avec certitude. Ces identifications dépendent de la sensibilité du spectateur à la tradition iconographique et elles sont surtout importantes pour créer un contexte, c'est-à-dire montrer les tâches qui incombent aux hommes.

[3] Principes artistiques fondamentaux à l’époque, la copie d’œuvres, ainsi que l’émulation – l’utilisation de l’exemple d’un autre artiste comme source d’inspiration – étaient considérées comme des moyens par lesquels les artistes pouvaient maîtriser leur art, puis, idéalement, surpasser leurs modèles. Le rapport de Rubens à l’art du passé a fait l’objet d'un grand nombre d’études, dont l’essentiel a été publié par J. Wood dans le Corpus Rubenianum. Sur la collection d'œuvres d’art de Rubens, voir Muller 1989.

[4] Au moins aux yeux d’un spectateur bien informé. Notez que le retable de Caravage, quoique connu par des récits, semble n’avoir été reproduit en gravure qu’une fois au xviie siècle (Moir 1976, sous le no 25, « par Baburen »; l'attribution est incertaine). Mis à part les artistes et voyageurs à Rome, peu de gens à l’époque auraient reconnu l’allusion, mais il est intéressant de souligner que la seule estampe contemporaine d’après le panneau d’Ottawa en donne l’invention à Caravage et ignore Rubens (voir ci-après). Nous ne savons pas comment le panneau de Rubens a été reçu; les premières références qui relient incontestablement les noms de Rubens et de Caravage ne datent que du xixe siècle – un hasard dû à la nature de nos sources.

ill. 1

Michelangelo Merisi da Caravaggio, dit Caravage,
La mise au tombeau (également connue sous le titre Déposition de Croix), v. 1602–1604, huile sur toile, 300 × 203 cm. Pinacothèque vaticane, Musées du Vatican, État de la Cité du Vatican. Photo : Scala / Art Resource, NY.

ill. 2

Pierre Paul Rubens,
La mise au tombeau, v. 1615–1616, huile sur panneau, 83,1 × 65,1 cm. © Samuel Courtauld Trust, The Courtauld Gallery, Londres. Photo : The Bridgeman Art Library.

ill. 3

Sceau en cire rouge, verso du panneau. Photo : NGC