National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Home Search Introduction Help Français

INTRODUCTION

1

What catalogues are indexed?

Firstly:

19th century catalogues:

Broadly, the index includes all surviving catalogues of art exhibitions, auctions and permanent collections published in Canada during the nineteenth century, i.e., datable to before 1900. Most published catalogues were produced as independent documents, but a handful of those indexed appeared in the form of reviews, inserts or advertisements in newspapers. Four catalogues of which only manuscript copies survive have been included, as has one catalogue which survives only in the form of a published transcript. Although most of the catalogues were published in Canada, eight catalogues of international exhibitions held outside Canada have also been indexed, for their Canadian content only. In addition, two catalogues of solo exhibitions held outside Canada by Canadian artists have been indexed: one for Henry Sandham in Boston, Massachusetts, the other for Lucius O’Brien in London, England.

Secondly:

All National Gallery of Canada catalogues to 1930:

49 published catalogues and 65 unpublished checklists for exhibitions held at the National Gallery as well as exhibitions loaned to other institutions. With one exception, the checklists document exhibitions organized by the Gallery’s Prints and Drawings Department after its formation in 1921.

Thirdly:

Catalogues of exhibitions held outside the National Gallery of Canada 1900-1930: in progress.

2

What is indexed within a catalogue?

“Art” covers paintings, watercolours, drawings and sculpture, as well as other media such as prints, photographs and decorative arts where these are included in a catalogue with the above. A handful of surviving 19th century catalogues of purely reproductive engravings, plaster casts or decorative arts have not been indexed. Catalogues of original etching and engraving works by artists, on the other hand, are included. Almost all the catalogues are indexed in their entirety. Only the Canadian content has been indexed in eight catalogues of international exhibitions held outside Canada. The catalogue of the 1899 loan portrait exhibition has not been indexed for the sections on medals, photographs and engravings, which are of historical rather than artistic interest. And the manuscript catalogue of the November 1848 Toronto Mechanics' Institute exhibition has been indexed excluding natural history specimens, apparatus and other items outside our field.

3

Additional notes

Spelling

Misspellings in the original catalogue entries have been qualified with the correct spelling in square brackets. This has been done at discretion, however, to avoid the pedantic correction of many place names whose spelling was erratic at the time, e.g., Shawinigan, Shawenegan, Shawinegam, etc. [Sic] has been used very sparingly to indicate a transcribed error that might otherwise have looked like an error on our part.

Manuscript notes

Although three catalogues surviving only in manuscript rather than printed form have been indexed, manuscript additions and corrections in printed catalogues have not been recorded.

Languages

Almost all the catalogues indexed are in English. The wording of the original catalogue entries, including the titles of works, has not been translated from English into French, or vice versa. Medium is indicated in both English and French, because this information has been derived rather than always literally transcribed from the catalogues (see Medium below). Any matter supplied by us in square brackets appears in a bilingual or language-neutral format.

4

For more information:

Portions of the database have been published in print form, and additional information about the project is available in these volumes:

Index to nineteenth-century Canadian catalogues of art, by Jonathan Franklin. Ottawa: NGC Library and Archives Occasional Paper No. 6, 2004 (ISBN 0888847866)

Index to National Gallery of Canada exhibition catalogues and checklists to 1930, by Philip Dombowsky. Ottawa: NGC Library and Archives Occasional Paper No. 7, 2007 (ISBN 0888848352)

 
Home | Search | Introduction | Help | Français
National Gallery of Canada -- Musée des beaux-arts du Canada Canada

National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada
National Gallery of Canada Library & Archives | Bibliothèque & Archives du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada

Accueil Recherche Introduction Aide English

INTRODUCTION

1

Portée de l’indexation

Quels catalogues sont indexés ?

Premièrement :

Catalogues du 19e siècle :

De façon générale, l’Index recense tout ce qui subsiste de catalogues d’expositions, de ventes aux enchères et de collections permanentes parus au Canada au xixe siècle, c’est-à-dire que nous pouvons dater avant 1900. Pour la plupart, il s’agit de titres publiés en tant que documents autonomes, encore que nous trouvons à l’occasion des comptes rendus, des insertions ou des annonces dans les journaux. S’ajoutent à cela quatre catalogues qui nous sont parvenus sous forme de manuscrits et un cinquième dont il n’existe qu’une transcription publiée. À cet ensemble de catalogues parus au Canada se greffent dix catalogues d’expositions tenues à l’étranger : huit catalogues d’expositions internationales dont seul le contenu canadien a fait l’objet d’une indexation; et deux catalogues d’expositions particulières – Henry Sandham à Boston et Lucius O’Brien à Londres.

Deuxièmement :

Tous les catalogues du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada jusqu’à 1930 :

49 catalogues et 65 listes d’exposition inédites, qui se rapportent à des expositions tenues au Musée des beaux-arts ou prêtées à d’autres institutions. À une exception près, les listes d’expositions, documentent des expositions organisées par le Département des dessins et estampes après sa création en 1921.

Troisièmement :

Catalogues d’expositions tenues en dehors du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada 1900-1930 : en cours.

2

Qu’est-ce qui est indexé dans un catalogue ?

Par le substantif « art », nous entendons les huiles, aquarelles, dessins et sculptures, ainsi que les estampes, photographies et objets décoratifs créés par d’autres moyens artistiques, qui figurent dans les mêmes catalogues. Quelques catalogues subsistants du 19e siècle de gravures purement de reproduction, de moulages et d’objets d’art décoratif ont été exclus de l’indexation, mais non les catalogues de gravures et d’eaux-fortes originales. La quasi- totalité des catalogues ont été indexés en entier. Seul le contenu canadien de huit catalogues d’expositions internationales a été indexé. Quant au catalogue de l’exposition de 1899 consacrée à des prêts de portraits, les chapitres portant sur les médailles, photographies et gravures d’intérêt historique plutôt qu’artistique n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une indexation. Non plus que les spécimens d’histoire naturelle, les appareils et autres objets étrangers au domaine présentés dans le catalogue manuscrit de l’exposition tenue en novembre 1848, à Toronto, au Mechanic’s Institute.

3

Notes additionelles

Orthographie

Les graphies fautives relevées dans les notices originales s’accompagnent de leurs formes correctes, entre crochets [ ]. Les transcriptions dont on pourrait nous imputer l’étrangeté sont indiquées par la mention « [sic] ». La rareté de cette mention s’explique par les flottements observés dans la graphie de nombreux toponymes ou noms de lieux, notamment Shawinigan, Shawenegan, Shawinegam, etc.

Notes manuscrits

Faut-il le rappeler, les trois catalogues qui nous sont parvenus sous une forme manuscrite ont fait l’objet d’une indexation. Tel n’est cependant pas le cas des mises à jour manuscrites de catalogues publiés.

Langues

Pratiquement tous les catalogues sont indexés en anglais. Les libellés des notices originales, y compris les titres d’œuvres et de catalogues, les lieux d’exposition et l’attribution des œuvres ne sont pas traduits. La technique est indiquée dans les deux langues officielles, l’élément d’information ayant été extrait et non pas traduit littéralement de catalogues (voir Technique plus loin). Tous les libellés des éléments d’information de notre cru sont bilingues ou linguistiquement neutres, et indiqués par des crochets.

4

Pour plus d’information :

Certaines sections de la base de données ont été publiées en format imprimé, and de l’information additionelle est disponible dans ces volumes :

Index des catalogues d'art parus au Canada au XIXe siècle, par Jonathan Franklin. Ottawa: Bibliothèque et Archives du MBAC, Document hors-série No. 6, 2004 (ISBN 0888847866)

Index des catalogues et des listes d’exposition du Musée des beaux-arts du Canada to 1930, par Philip Dombowsky. Ottawa: Bibliothèque et Archives du MBAC, Document hors-série No. 7, 2007 (ISBN 0888848352)

 
Accueil | Recherche | Introduction | Aide | English
National Gallery of Canada -- Musée des beaux-arts du Canada Canada